Skip to content

What I Did On My Summer Vacation.

September 11, 2013

Wait, what summer? WHAT VACATION??? People, that was entirely too fast.

I did lots of things actually. But the best thing I did was make these people.

girls

Introducing Talia Grace and Lucy Caroline – the newest members of our little pile of people. (Cheat sheet – Lucy is fair; Talia has the dark hair.)

This should be an OH HEY LOOK THEY WERE BORN! post, but it isn’t really – they are in fact two months old today. They showed up at the ripe old age of 31+4 weeks gestation, which earned them a good month or so in the NICU.

Here’s the beginning….

lucynicu
Lucy rocking the CPAP, and sporting a cloth diaper like a quilt.

talianicu2

Talia, just free of the CPAP.

Lucy (aka Twin A or Twin 1 depending on who you talk to) was 3lb 8oz, and Talia (Twin B or Twin 2) was 3lbs 13oz. Flair for the dramatic these two!

20130906_085905_edit0

It was really funny watching their progression – neither of them needed to be vented (YAHOO) but both needed CPAP for a few days. We started calling them the tortoise and the hare because their progression was really like that. Lucy came off CPAP within 24 hours and lasted a day and a half but then got tired and had to go back on. Talia took an extra day or so to come off…but once she was off, she was done with that nonsense.

20130903_162356_edit0

Both girls are rock stars who managed to latch at 32 weeks – blew me away; babies are amazing – though I’m still required to give them fortified bottles of pumped milk at least some of the time now. They are getting there though!

But seriously, this is the first time Talia nursed – keep in mind she’s the bigger of the two – and NO I am NOT showing you nursing pictures. But this gives you an idea about her head size. Think fuzzy tennis ball.

taliamama

And here they are today, at 2 months, looking totally awesome and comparatively giant.

talia_2month

Talia, currently 6lbs 10oz and ROCKING IT.

Lucy_2month

Lucy, currently 5lbs 7oz and…

….well, she’s getting there. She has some nasty reflux that is causing the weight gain to be slow (and sleep to be tough). But she is getting there!

And really right now we’re all just….figuring things out. We’re getting there. It’s hard – some days it’s really hard. But it’s also completely awesome and I choose to focus on that part. (That’s one of the more startling things really – the realization that it’s a CHOICE to focus on the awesome, and in making that choice it becomes even more awesome.)

self

Sam and Anika are so completely over the moon in love with these little people it’s not even funny. They adore them.

Big_little

I expected Anika to be in love – and she is. She is beyond helpful; when I am dealing with one and the other one is crying, she will go and pick up the crying one, give her a cuddle and sing to her – in short, calm her right down until I can get there. It’s lovely to see the relationship developing between them, and I’m constantly reminding myself that I don’t have to police her – she might not be picking Lucy up PERFECTLY, but if Lucy isn’t complaining then I don’t need to get in her way. This is part of the two of them forming a relationship and it is a good thing.

lucysam

Sam has really blown me away. I mean, the thing about Sam is he’s a boy – and he really is a BOY. He’s rough and tumble; he’s usually covered in some kind of dirt, his hair is almost always too shaggy and he’s really physical with his affection – giant crashing into your legs hugs; that kind of thing. I love that about him; it’s fantastic. But it’s a little scary when you’ve got that careening around your 4lb infants. So I was nervous when we brought them home….but the truth is that Sam has been SO gentle, SO loving and kind with them – he will put on this very affected “I am now talking to a baby” voice and say “Oh Luce. It’s okay. I’m here. I’m your big brother. I will protect you.” It’s impossibly sweet (though I am obviously biased and make no promises about becoming unbiased!!).

talia

The things I’m finding hardest right now are finding time to use my hands. It’s ridiculous but I mean if you’ve had a baby you know what I’m talking about – you know how to do your hair, clean, put on makeup, whatever all with one hand while the other hand is holding your baby. But suddenly I’m standing there holding two babies and staring at a pile of dinner ingredients with no idea how to get them assembled because NO HANDS. Or I’m looking at an email I’d really like to respond to and…can’t because NO HANDS.

Or you know, I’d like to write a blog post showing off my babies and I can’t because….well you get the idea.

DSC00297

Mom. Stop being so lazy.

More to come…lots more to come. Just as soon as I find my hands.

 

 

 

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 12:21 pm

    Just completely adorable. I love seeing Tallie’s eyes so wide open, and yet she’s relaxed at the same time! And Lucy – she’s always been able to lock on a great stare… Xox to all…comin’ to see you guys Sept 28th! Can’t wait.

  2. Angela permalink
    September 11, 2013 12:45 pm

    Lovely pics! You all look so great and glad you are doing well and choosing to focus on the awesome:0) They do look giant now…Crazy growing…good work mom! Enjoy!

  3. September 11, 2013 12:47 pm

    Congratulations!!! Lucy and Talia are beautiful and I’m sure bring so much joy to your family.:) (and dirty diapers, spit up, sleepless nights, etc.)lol Glad to hear the Anika and Sam are adjusting well. Thank you for taking a moment to use those hands and share about the wonderful,new additions to your family!

  4. September 11, 2013 4:50 pm

    Look…my girls….and boy!!

  5. Karan permalink
    September 11, 2013 8:43 pm

    Now you just have to learn to use the feet like that guy in some chips commercial I think it is :-) Awww, great blog and everyone looks adorable. Glad to hear all is as well. xxxxx

  6. September 12, 2013 7:41 pm

    Oooo… beautiful. They’re amazing. You’re amazing. Your famiy’s amazing. I can imagine that no hands thing. That’s a tricky one. I’m praying for you and that Holy Spirit awesome/grateful perspective you mention. They are such miracles. Love you.

  7. September 13, 2013 10:49 pm

    I’ve been thinking of you because I was visiting my sister, Mary, when you had the twins. I’ve been thinking of you lots and I am so inspired by your “It’s a choice to focus on the awesome” perspective. Keep on truckin’.
    Melissa (sister of Maryann)

  8. Lisa permalink
    September 15, 2013 6:16 pm

    LOVE this :) Can’t wait to meet them!

  9. Jennifer permalink
    September 16, 2013 9:12 am

    Awesome! I think that it’s funny how big and little works in situations like these. The girls look huge compared to when they were first born but next to the other kids, they are still tiny. :-) Congratulations to you all! Love you!

  10. October 10, 2013 11:46 pm

    These pictures are so incredibly perfect! Love that the older kids are getting involved and loving on those two tiny ones.
    And I completely understand about the gender mix-up thing. Bald or blond babies seem to be female in the collective psyche while the dark hair is always male… Don’t get it. Why in the world would any mother dress a little boy in head-to-toe pink (dress, hair bows, etc)?!?! Why, people? Why? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

