Skip to content

Sam the Designer

February 27, 2014

So as I mentioned sometime….somewhere….in some post or other, I’m trying to do a bit more sewing. Because I miss it and it makes me less crazy which is a WIN for everyone.

Actually, it’s especially a win for Sam as it turns out because what the boy wanted more than ANYTHING was a Mater shirt (from Cars). Sam LOVES Mater. He pretends to BE Mater on a regular basis. (I have to be Holly). Much Mater love.

But weirdly Mater doesn’t grace many shirts. He has a few Lightening McQueen ones….but it’s not the same.

So Sam and I set about making a Mater shirt. I happened to have some orange and grey jersey that I thought would go together nicely to make one of the Hipster Henley shirts from Blank Slate Patterns. I own the pattern but hadn’t made it before so thought I’d give it a go.

When I showed the fabric I had to Sam though, he said (and I quote) “Welll….I like ALL the colours but I really like blue and green. I want my Mater shirt to be blue and green.”

I had a conversation with Brandon about this. The thing is, I’ve always tried to give Anika a lot of freedom with colours and fabrics and patterns for what we make her – because I want her to have an open mind about fashion and what looks good; I don’t want her to be too restricted by any one style or what everyone else is wearing. I want her to know there are options and that she doesn’t have to be hemmed in to what she sees in a store. (Yeah, I will let you know how THAT works out….but that’s the goal).

So by that logic, shouldn’t I extend the same freedoms to Sam? Especially when he SO RARELY CARES AT ALL what he is wearing? And when I sew so much less for him?

But on the other hand I already OWNED the other fabric, and MATER ON A SHIRT. He totally wouldn’t care if I sewed the darn thing out of kleenex because MATER.

After much back and forth I decided to take Sam to find some blue and green t-shirts at Walmart that we could cut up and make into a shirt for him. *I* found a cool marine blue t-shirt and a neat green and white striped shirt (blue body, striped sleeves…fun right??). Sam found the same marine blue t-shirt and a kelly green shirt. It needed to be ALL green apparently.

Fine. We brought the shirts home and I said “Sam, do you want the body blue and the sleeves green or the sleeves blue and the body green?”

Sam blinked at me like I was crazy and said “Oh no. No. I want one sleeve blue and one sleeve green. I want the front green and the back blue. That would be SO funny.”

CLOWN SHIRT. RIGHTO THEN.

APhoto 2-24-2014, 8 07 48 AM

Now, here’s where I give a super shout out to Melissa and Blank Slate Patterns. Because a project that under normal circumstances would take me about two afternoons took me….well. A lot of days. Lets just say that most days I was really happy if I managed to complete a single step. I just can’t string minutes together right now the way I want to. I know it’s a season; I will get there….but it was a little frustrating. The way that Melissa lays her patterns out though are wonderful. I was able to do a step and then just wander back the next day and pick it up with the next step. There was no “Wait….what was I doing??” going on. It was easy to drop in and out and I appreciate that A LOT right now. (The former technical writer in me approves mightily).

BPhoto 2-24-2014, 8 07 34 AM

The pattern on its own is great fun. I decided to embrace Sam’s vision and run with it – we did a green front and a blue back; one sleeve each colour with alternate colour cuffs. The button band was blue, which is fun on the green shirt. And even though they aren’t necessarily colours *I* (or a drunk clown) would have put together they actually came together more nicely than I thought they would. Bonus

CPhoto 2-24-2014, 8 07 29 AM

For Mater we decided to just to an iron on transfer on some white jersey left over from another project and stitch it on the front. (I toyed with fabric paint but given the three minutes at a time sewing approach it didn’t seem so practical. Besides, Sam appreciates authenticity more than craftsmanship anyway.)

DPhoto 2-24-2014, 8 07 45 AM

I used some fusible webbing to attach Mater to the shirt, and then used the lattice stretch stitch on my sewing machine in brown to stitch it on – we were going for a “muddy tire tracks” look.

The shirt fits him beautifully (it’s a slim cut but it’s really true to size so it works nicely).

And he LOVES it.

Oh, and yes. He styled the photo shoot himself with the hat. Of course. And every last picture I have of him is blurry but you know, the truth is that SAM is usually blurry these days so I figure it’s an accurate representation of the boy at three!!!

PicMonkey Collage

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    February 27, 2014 1:13 pm

    Lol. I hadn’t seen the photoshoot yet. =)

  2. February 27, 2014 2:40 pm

    Pffahahah.. Sam. The model, apparently! I love that he was like “No mom, it has to have different colour sleeves & different colour front/back.” Of COURSE! Genius. (I’ll admit, I didn’t get it at first either… but you’ve totally made it work!) Way to go!

  3. Angela permalink
    February 27, 2014 3:14 pm

    He is rockin’ that Mater shirt! This drunk clown aporoves!:0)

  4. March 21, 2014 6:28 pm

    Oh what a wonderful shirt designed by Sam :) My daughter is into Cars (BIIIIIIIIIIIIIG time_, but she prefers lightning. OH, and sally. Mater comes third.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

