Skip to content

Twirly Girl.

October 7, 2010

So here’s a funny story about this skirt. As I mentioned in my last post, this skirt is from a tutorial on Dana’s site – the circle skirt tutorial.

Despite the elastic dying debacle, the skirt was impossibly easy to put together – I think it literally took me maybe 45 minutes to do it. The fabric I chose was a “stretch gray suiting” fabric – so a woven, but with some stretch to it. I think it’s a wool/poly blend of some description – it’s a bit heavier, which I thought would be good for winter in Canada.

The fabric is charcoal gray. Literally, every time Anika saw it she’d say, in a very worried voice, “Mama, I don’t like gray very much.” I’d say “But Ani, you’re going to love this – it’s going to be so much fun. You need to trust me.” She’s come back with “Well, I don’t think I really want to try it right now mama. Maybe tomorrow.”

Oy.

Then I made the skirt. And I tried it on her for size. She very VERY reluctantly put it on (“But I don’t LIKE gray mama!”) and took an experimental step. And then another. And then she gave a small bounce. And then she tried twirling. And then her ENTIRE FACE LIT UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE. I pretty much had to bribe her with a trip to the library to get her to take it off so I could hem it.

She hasn’t taken it off since. It’s perfect for running….

….hopping….

….jumping….

…and of course, twirling!

Nothing like a skirt that makes it SO EASY to have fun in!

For those interested in the details, here’s the skirt without a girl in it (so it’s actually still).

I did the skirt exactly as Dana describes in her tutorial, and put a purple zig zag around the hem, about 5/8″ from the bottom (I was trying to distract Ani from the gray. I think I maybe didn’t need to bother).

It’s a fun little project! I think twirly girl agrees.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    October 7, 2010 7:46 pm

    I love the hopping pic. The antique look comes through nicely.

  2. Rob permalink
    October 12, 2010 8:42 pm

    This is a really cute article written by a clearly brilliant, witty woman.

    • October 14, 2010 1:12 am

      Thanks Dad. Delighted to see that your biases remain intact :).

  3. Angela permalink
    October 14, 2010 1:11 am

    Love this skirt! Too bad about the elastic:o(

Leave a Reply

