Skip to content

The Project

October 18, 2010

I have a project in mind….two projects actually, and I’m REALLY excited about them. This is largely why I started this blog – because I want to track the progress in working through this.

I bought two books about a month ago – this and this.

I’ve spent the last four weeks completely obsessed with both of them. I’ve read them both cover to cover. I’ve studied the pictures and the descriptions and…I’m smitten. Wildly smitten.

My plan is to work through both books, more or less end to end….and document the process here. I’m starting with the Sew U Home Stretch book, because I kind of feel like it’s going to teach me some things about my serger – using it for actual construction as opposed to seam finishing; that kind of thing. I admit that when I look through that book I’m not completely sold on making EVERYTHING in it….so I may skip around a bit and not make absolutely everything. But there’s enough that I want to try that I think it will be really fun.

The pattern making book is another bird altogether. I’m FASCINATED with it. Completely and totally fascinated. In the interest of full disclosure, I do have a mechanical engineering degree (which I use for nothing more than lego these days), so I’ve done some manual drafting before…many of the design principles she explains in the book I can get my head around pretty quickly. In fact, many of them I’ve run across before…I just had NO IDEA they could be applied to clothing design!

So that book I’m more likely to start at the beginning and work through end to end, because the concepts seem to build on each other. It certainly doesn’t hurt that the projects she includes and the stunning photography make me want to try everything NOW.

I’m very excited to try this. More often than not I default to sewing for the kids (because it’s fun and it’s fast), and not sewing for me (newsflash: I’m curvier than a three year old. I KNOW). I’ve made a couple of dresses from patterns and been kind of “blah” about how they’ve turned out. A couple have been okay but not spectacular. I think if I can start to understand this pattern making stuff, I can get much closer to spectacular!

I am going to take you with me as I work through these books…I’ll document how I figure things out as I go and what pitfalls I’m running into; that kind of thing. (I won’t, obviously, include a lot of the material from the books themselves – but I do highly recommend picking up a copy and following along!).

So! Hop on board and enjoy the ride….this ought to be interesting!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    October 18, 2010 6:38 pm

    If you don’t mind, I’m just going to look over your shoulder rather than buy myself a set of the books.

    And you looked very nice in the black maternity evening wear dress you made for yourself! 😉

Leave a Reply

