Skip to content

Manicures

November 1, 2010

On Friday, Anika got to wear her Halloween costume to school, which was Very Extremely Exciting! She said to me on the way to school “Oh mommy – the classroom is going to be decorated…it is just going to be INCREDIBLE.”

My initial reaction was “Dude, incredible? Really?” But then I thought about her frame of reference for life and figured that yeah, actually, for her it is TOTALLY going to be incredible. And I think it was – the kids had a great time from what I understand!

Part of the Big! Fun! was seeing her bestest buddy M in her Minnie Mouse costume. They girls had been discussing their costumes for weeks, so to actually get to SEE each other was huge. And sure enough, Friday morning M was all decked out in her Minnie Mouse finery, complete with little Minnie Mouse stickers on her finger nails.

Well, Anika thought that was about the most glamorous thing she had ever seen in her life, so Friday afternoon after her rest time she asked me if we could please paint her nails. I said sure – we have this book with the accompanying nail polishes, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The paints are completely safe, they peel off or wash off with water, and they dry really fast. Because they are water-soluble, if they get a bit too sticky you can just put a few drops of water in the bottle and shake it up to bring it back to life. You can mix colours freely and if it gets on the furniture or her clothes it doesn’t matter because it really does just peel off or wash off really easily.

Generally our procedure for nails is that she chooses which designs she wants me to paint and I try my darndest to come up with something that she likes. This time she went relatively simple…she chose hearts for one foot…

….holly for the other (apparently covering all holidays)…..

But then on her hands she decided that she wanted little Angelina ballerina’s to match her costume. Cue head banging here. I convinced her to settle for Mommy’s Best Attempt at Angelina’s on her thumbs, and we’d just do rainbows on her other fingers – she thought this would be okay.

I actually thought the Angelina’s were vaguely recognizable by the time I was done!

Normally this is where we put away the nail polish and go do something else, but on Friday Anika had bigger plans – she wanted to paint my nails. Uh. Well, I am nothing if not a good sport, so…she put rainbows on one hand….

…and ladybugs on the other!

She’s not half bad at this actually! My favourite was when she accidentally covered half of my ring finger with black paint and said “Oops, Mommy, I smudged a little – but it’s okay, you can just wash that off later.”

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal - yer mom! (aka, Gran) permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:12 am

    You are such a good Mom. With painted fingers. Love those little feet of hers!

  2. November 2, 2010 12:19 am

    I NEED her to do my nails for me. Like, NEED. 🙂

    • November 2, 2010 2:13 am

      You know, I am going to say that Anika would paint your nails ANY TIME!! Birthday manicure perhaps?!?

Leave a Reply

