Skip to content

Presents!

November 1, 2010

This was a quick little thing I dashed off the other night. We had a baby shower for one of my closest friends K, a second baby, so the shower was a really low key event where we just all got together to celebrate with her. We had the party here and had a travelling spa come and do manicures and pedicures for the guests, so that was really fun! It was a small group of us – just a really nice, relaxing time.

The one thing that K really needed for baby #2 was a new diaper bag – so we did some scouting and bought her one (the SkipHop Duo in the wavedot pattern for those keeping score at home – here). We’d picked up a couple of small things to put in it, and at the last minute I ran across this tutorial and decided to make her a diapers and wipes case to go with the bag. (I didn’t make the change pad, though I think it looks lovely – I just didn’t have time to pull that together, plus the diaper bag already comes with one, so I left it out this time!).

The tutorial is really simple to follow, and I think the case came out really nicely!

I did a couple of things differently than they suggested in the tutorial – one is that I put a ribbon tab in the center of the top flap (I just liked how it looked). I also added some fusible interfacing to one piece of fabric prior to sewing it together – I didn’t want the case to be too thick, but I liked that the interfacing gave it a bit of stability.

It took very little time to put this together…and I ended up liking it so much that I may even make one for my own diaper bag – I think it might be really handy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cal - yer mom! (aka, Gran) permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:10 am

    Very nice! I bet Karan loved it. You should have one too!

Leave a Reply

