Skip to content

Sister.

November 9, 2010

Well now, today my sister is turning a number that rhymes with Schmirty WHOOOO!

Yes, it is that exciting.

(Dear Shannon: I am sorry for calling you Ape Face when we were kids. I’d watched Freaky Friday a few too many times I think.)

Shannon is kind of dramatic.

But that’s okay because she’s also rather amusing.

Sometimes Shannon and I accidentally dress the same.

We just roll with it. But it pisses me off because she always looks better than I do. Now I blame it on the kids. Handy!

When we were in high school sometimes my friends would come over and start talking to her, thinking it was me. It drove me completely bonkers. A year later she started painting her fingernails dark blue and dying her hair red. My friends didn’t get confused anymore after that.

Shannon is not a huge fan of the great outdoors.

She once famously declared at age…oh…six or so “I HATE this nature-pature-dature stuff.” We were at the cottage at the time.

Once Shannon and I went to Cuba together. I’d like to claim that she embarrassed me by singing Enrique into her water bottle at the airport. I’d like to claim that, but I’d be lying. I just thought it was funny.

She made up for it later by sporting this cowboy hat for the better part of the trip. Awesome.

The guys who led the jeep tour of the area we were staying at kept referring to us as a pair of “juicy mangoes”. I still can’t decide if that was complimentary. I do think it’s hilarious though.

Shannon is one of my favourite people because she will ALWAYS tell me when those pants make my ass look huge. She will also tell me what to buy when we go shopping. She is usually right. Shannon understands that no matter how complicated POTE might be to understand, once you start playing the game it is way fun. Shannon does not sew but Shannon tolerates my insane need to make her stuff at semi-regular intervals. (Dude. I’m sorry. I wish I could stop. It’s probably not going to happen.)

Shannon is also one of my favourite people because she loves my kids.

I also love my kids so this works out well.

Happy Birthday girl. May Schmirty-Whooo be the best year yet.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 2:57 pm

    BEST. BIRTHDAY PRESENT. EVER. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

    PS: some of those pics are absolutely terrible but I will forgive you because mostly they just made me laugh and cry a little… 😉

  2. That other one. permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:05 pm

    Hee-hee. Shmirty. Don’t worry, Shan–I’ve been rounding up for, like, 2-3 years now.

    POTE is an awesome game, and I will not be denied further games of it with the three of you.

    Great pics, Chris.

    -T

  3. Mom permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:35 pm

    Awww! I think this was a really great birthday card…you are a very funny girl, Chris. We all loved it, and I think I remember most of it!

Leave a Reply

