Skip to content

Presents!!

November 23, 2010

So um, a loooong time ago I posted this teaser – remember? No? That’s okay, I’d almost forgotten too!

See, what happened is I made a birthday present for my sister. Ani made a card (naturally) and also attached some hair clips to the card, so as to enhance the natural beauty of the whole thing. Ahem. And we packaged it all up and mailed it to her!

And….nothing happened. She didn’t get it. I alternately prayed and cursed Canada Post and cursed myself for not sending it priority with a tracking number. Not that it’s that big a deal, but you know.

But then! Out of the blue, her gift arrived this morning which means that NOW I can finally post about it. Yay!

So, I made Shannon this:

It’s based on this tutorial, here – http://noodleheads.blogspot.com/2010/04/gathered-clutch-tutorial.html.

It is SUCH a fun little project – a couple of sewing bits that aren’t as easy if you are a total novice, but if you’ve done some sewing you should be able to figure it out pretty easily (the tutorial is lovely; very thorough).

I knew I wanted a gray/yellow colour palette, and was pleased with the fabrics I found….but thought it needed a bit of a punch. I knew I had it when I found the turquoise zipper!

I pulled in some turquoise thread as well on the yellow….

….and decided to really mix up the inside by using some charcoal coloured felt instead of regular broadcloth!

I love the end result. I think it’s SO much fun.

Creating the end tabs for the zippers were a little tricky, but manageable – the part I goofed on was getting the tabs to sit smoothly after sewing the sides. I didn’t fully appreciate until after I was finished that the end tabs of the zipper are not actually intended to be stitched into the side seam – there’s actually a tiny gap there which is what allows it to sit so nicely! I figured it out on one side…

…but not so much on the other. Unfortunately, the way my seam allowance lay I couldn’t do anything about it – oh well, it’s not too bad and I’ll know better for next time!

The only thing I would change for the next time would be to put a wristlet loop on it – it would be SO easy to do, just put a little tab loop into one side seam and attach a key ring to it with a small handle off of it – gah. Am irritated with myself that I didn’t think of it at the right time.

I guess that’s how sewing goes though! Always looking for what you can do better in the next round….(and yes, Shannon, now that I have pointed out all these mistakes I will cheerily make you another one :).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal - yer mom! (aka, Gran) permalink
    November 23, 2010 3:17 pm

    This is very very cute – totally Shannon!

  2. November 28, 2010 2:04 am

    I adore it. I really and truly do! I even brought it to the office to show it off… and I told Brooke about it. She thinks you should make them and put them up on etsy.com! Check it out! 😀

    Anyway, love it soooo much. Thank you!!!!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

