Skip to content

The Mighty T-Shirt: Part KatrillionohmygoodnessareweDONEYET??

November 23, 2010

Ahhhh yes. The t-shirt project. When last we visited I had (successfully!) reworked the pattern and (successfully!) made a blue velour shirt. That was blue. And velour. Did I mention? Oh right.

So all that remained for this project was to make one out of fabric I actually liked!! Yahoo!

I am kind of totally smitten with blue and green together – they are my favourite colour combination; they totally remind me of summer and pools and grass and just IMMEDIATELY make me happy.

So I chose a bright blue knit with a green rib for the neck and arm holes.

And dude, the shirt is AWESOME. I am in love.

I was able to do a few little things to “finish” it a little more nicely than I would have if I hadn’t made the shirt twice already and gotten a feel for it. One of the things I did was use a twin needle on my regular sewing machine to finish the seams after serging (it tacked down the serged hem underneath and put a bit of a topstitch on the shirt that I liked – and because the twin needle makes the bobbin zigzag underneath, it’s still got enough stretch to it. Win win!).

I also used a wide flatlock in green thread to do the hem at the bottom of the shirt – I think it looks kind of cool.

Of course there are lots of things I did wrong too…I found it tougher than I expected to get the rib to line up perfectly when I stitched the shirt (I think because the stretch factor is so different between the two materials).

I also…okay, this is embarrassing but I totally bought the wrong material. I thought I was buying a jersey knit, because I was looking at the shelf that had all of the OTHER jersey knits on it and I just grabbed the colour I liked and went with it. But um…I’m AWESOME and because I’m AWESOME, I managed to grab a bolt of fleeced cotton. It’s totally fine and it’s a nice material; it’s just that it’s a little thicker than a normal t-shirt would be (just slightly). I kind of like it for the winter months anyway, but I think the shirt would drape better in a smoother knit.

I also apparently was tired when it came time to actually MEASURE the hem (as opposed to just eyeballing it) and managed to do this.

Lets just move on, shall we? Okay!

Now, because I am me and cannot leave well enough alone, I decided to do one more thing to the shirt. In a nutshell I decided to do this:

What’s that? Oh, that’s a freezer paper stencil. (Here’s one tutorial for doing it – http://www.dana-made-it.com/2008/08/tutorial-freezer-paper-stencil-makenna.html).

I like t-shirts that have some fun stuff on them; a little bit surfer-ish. So I went for it. This is us peeling the paper off.

Et voila! The finished project.

And for good measure, here’s a neck-down picture of me wearing it. (It was late; the lighting was terrible; I look exhausted – trust me, leaving my head in this picture would NOT bless anyone. Safety first friends).

And with that, the mighty t-shirt project is done! I have a pattern I’m happy with, and can build on – so am thrilled about that. I also learned a whole lot about how to use my serger, which is great fun and VERY confidence boosting. The next part in this Sew U project will be to take that pattern and adapt it into a few other patterns the book suggests – we’ll dive into that in another post. For now, I’m happy with this shirt and will wear it lots I think. And now, it’s almost December, which means holiday sewing is upon us…I believe I have a “rainbow dress that twirls” to try to conquer in the coming weeks for my girl for Christmas….and a few other goodies too, though we’re not talking about it here yet – too many people read this blog!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal - yer mom! (aka, Gran) permalink
    November 23, 2010 3:16 pm

    You just keep getting better at all this! Very good work, hon.

  2. November 28, 2010 2:06 am

    Shirt looks great!! Very cool… who knew a t-shirt would be THAT difficult to do!?!? I love it though, and now that you know how to make it you’ll be churning them out by the dozens in no time.

    By the way, every time I see something I think you or Ani would like in stores, I have to stop and ask myself, “could she make this?” and if the answer is yes, I don’t buy it. :p LOL.

  3. dani permalink
    September 2, 2015 12:56 pm

    What stitch do you use in the second picture? I h ave been trying on my machine to achieve this and can’t. I am not the best at this yet.. please help!!! Thank you! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Freezer Paper Stenciling « Pintuck

Leave a Reply

