Skip to content

Ballet

December 14, 2010

Note: I am sewing TONS; the problem is that I’m too darn busy actually sewing to stop and write about it! There will be one heck of a retrospective in January…until then, forgive me! Also, this post has lots of pictures of other kids whose parents haven’t given me permission to write about them on the internet – so I’ve blurred their faces. Trust me, they are totally cute kids and don’t normally look like their faces have melted.

Anika loves ballet. Understand that I use the term “ballet” rather loosely – she is, after all, not quite four. But she is in the four year old pre-ballet class, and absolutely adores it. (She has been known to exclaim in the car on the way home from her class, “It’s such a long time to wait for ballet again!”).

This week we got to observe her class….and it was truly one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen. The way they handle it at this class seems to be to incorporate all kinds of make believe imagination stuff into it – teaching them very real skills but very imaginative. We got to witness the kids going to “a winter wonderland” where they demonstrated how to be a snowflake…

…ice skate….

….be a snow princess (they are putting on crowns in case it isn’t perfectly clear)….

…and do all kinds of other things in the snow. It’s interesting to see how they really incorporate skills into the mix though – they are really learning a lot.

Witness: Plie!

Toe pointing!

Ballerina jumps! (landing softly).

The thing I couldn’t get over was just how much joy radiates from our kid when she’s in there – she is so totally happy and so totally in her element. I am so conscious of not wanting to be one of those moms who pushes her kid into one thing, or who schedules every second of her free time….but at the same time I am so happy for her that she’s found something she really likes to do. As long as it’s fun for her, I am great with it – and with this school.

I’m pretty sure she is too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    December 14, 2010 7:15 pm

    *Sigh*

    She’s growing up. Pliés and pointed toes… 😉

    Teaching me to enjoy life.

  2. Rob permalink
    December 14, 2010 7:51 pm

    Love it…fabulous. She’s a relative!!

    Papa

  3. Cal - yer mom! (aka, Gran) permalink
    December 14, 2010 10:31 pm

    She is such a cutie – isn’t it amazing how this has lasted for her, as an interest since she was only 2! It is clear that she really pays attention, and focuses on what she’s supposed to be doing. Oh, Ani, you do slay me! *sigh…*

  4. December 20, 2010 4:27 am

    Bit late in the game responding here, considering I have looked at this post about 6 times… 😉 But I love these photos! Ani is so joyous and so proud… and we are proud of her!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

