Skip to content

Purple.

February 1, 2011

So waaaaay back in October, there was this Sews vs. Knits challenge on luvinthemommyhood. Katy, one of my all time favourite sewing bloggers from No Big Dill posted this tutorial for Team Sews.

Originally I was thinking about making this for my sister for Christmas, but it didn’t pan out that way – I wasn’t sure she’d like it as much as I did, and she needed excellent cookware more :). Plus I’d already smacked her with a homemade gift for her birthday so I figured I’d space it out a bit.

But I had this purple jersey and I really LIKED the cardigan so I figured I’d go for it.

Katy’s instructions in the tutorial are good – I just traced a t-shirt I like the fit of and made the modifications she suggested in her tutorial. If you are trying to follow the tutorial, make sure you check out the comments – in the comment section she notes that the length she extends the neck pieces up by is about 4.5″ (though she also notes that you could go a little further with it if you wanted to). I followed the 4.5″ guide in making mine.

I also thought that I might like my cardigan to be a little longer – so I added about 3″ to the overall length of it.

I was totally lazy and didn’t bother truing up my pattern before cutting, so I ended up with a slightly longer sleeve cap than sleeve hole – I just gathered the sleeves a tiny bit and it worked fine.

Here’s the finished product – the first time anyway! (Of course I adjusted it later. I am a fan of tweaking iterative design).

What, my daughter’s the only one that can be silly when taking pictures?

In Katy’s pictures she shows wearing it the way I am in the pictures, and wearing it open and belted. On her, open and belted looks awesome. On me open and belted looks weird and lumpy. No really:

Now I KNOW – that is totally the wrong kind of belt to wear with it. But I don’t own the right kind of belt because WEIRD AND LUMPY, WEIRD AND LUMPY!

(Right now my sister is reading this and shaking her head and possibly bashing it off the desk a little bit. Hi Shannon!)

I DO think this has some potential to be just left hanging open though – the draping is neat.

So overall I really liked this, but there were a couple of things I wanted to adjust. First, the extra-long sleeves are great but I didn’t make my sleeves narrow enough – they were falling over my hands. So I brought the sleeves in and made them narrower (actually, they could stand to be narrower still closer to the wrist but I’m test driving it as is for now). And then, you know, I added the 3″ of extra length to the bottom and it was really just too much – too big; too much fabric. So I grabbed my trusty rotary cutter and sliced off 2″ of the length.

This isn’t a great shot of the cardi but it does show the two adjustments to the length and the sleeves. I was playing with Sam. It was more fun than trying to get exactly the right picture!

Now I am completely in love with the cardigan. It’s SO comfortable; it’s warm without being bulky and weird, and it’s totally missing its calling as a nursing top – I was able to nurse Sam at church so easily on Sunday. It’s absolutely great. And I am fairly sure that the next time I see Shannon she will put the right kind of belt on me and then who knows? Maybe the weird and lumpy will morph into another really cool way to wear this. In the meantime I’m completely delighted with it.

Oh, and did I mention easy? It’s easy. Go make it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    February 1, 2011 4:11 pm

    Love it love it love it. Purple is my fravorite…

    daddy

  2. Gran permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:28 pm

    It’s aDORable on you, Christy! So, I looked at Katy’s pictures, and I noticed the front edge is a bit wavy – maybe the fabric she used? Anyway, yours looks neater (IMHO) and I think I like it better in purple! Good work, hon.

  3. February 3, 2011 1:24 am

    This is ah-MAZE-balls. I LOVE IT!!! And while no, you don’t need to make it for me for any special occasion, know that I would have appreciated it anyway. 😉 So cute! And never fear, belts are near… ha ha! No, no head-banging. 😉

Leave a Reply

