Skip to content

8 Months!

February 28, 2011

My little Sammo is 8 months old. Well, you know – a week or two ago he was 8 months old, but I’m pretty sure I’ve never managed to get one of these things up on time so lets just go with it shall we??

This hasn’t been the greatest month ever for us….we’ve been sick, a lot (all of us to varying degrees – at one point 3 out of 4 of us were on antibiotics for something or other). Frustrating! But through it all Sam has stayed his completely cheerful self.

He’s still not a huge fan of food, and unfortunately that’s shown pretty strongly in his weight progress – it’s been a little frustrating because he’s dropped down the percentiles fairly significantly – he’s now about 8th percentile for weight adjusted (meaning they bump him up a month because he was early).

The poor kid didn’t really stand much of a chance – between being sick and the antibiotics and not being a huge fan of food to start with it was pretty tough for him to gain I guess. THANKFULLY now he seems to be stabilizing and hopefully in the next few weeks we’ll see him start to climb up again. He’s been pronounced “tiny, but healthy, and a total charmer” by the doctor so good enough I think!

Sam’s been hitting some really cool milestones this month that have been so much fun to see. (Well, most of them anyway). He figured out how to clap, and spent a few days cheerily applauding me every time I did something like empty the dishwasher. It’s very adorable and encouraging really.

He’s popping up on his hands and knees more and more – still hasn’t coordinated it and hasn’t really figured out how to go anywhere, but he’s starting to work out the mechanics. He does somehow seem to get around a little bit though – I can’t quite figure out HOW he’s moving, but I’ll leave him on his play mat with a toy and go put laundry in the dryer…and then come back to find him about six feet away from where I left him, under a chair. I don’t know how he’s doing it but it’s pretty funny.

One slightly less charming (but still hilarious) thing he’s learned how to do is blow raspberries – but with a PURPOSE. He thought it was fun, sure – but then he realized if I was trying to put something in his mouth that he didn’t want there, he could blow raspberries and I wouldn’t be able to get a spoon into his mouth – and if I DID, then the very act of blowing the raspberry would remove the offending substance from his mouth (and spray it all over his mother – thanks son!). It got to the point where all I needed to do was open the fridge to get out his medicine and he’d start with the “ThhhhbbbbbbbBBBbbBBB!” I still don’t know how much of the medicine he managed to consume, but I DO know I washed a surprising amount of it out of my hair.

He’s very intent on conversation now – if he thinks you aren’t paying attention to him and he wants you to, he will look at you and “ah!” until you notice him and talk to him. It’s very funny. He also likes to investigate your face very thoroughly if you are doing something like singing – he’ll try to reach in your mouth and just FIGURE OUT where that noise is coming from.

He still completely adores his sister and thinks she’s about the funniest thing in the whole world.

I love having the two kids – seeing them together is just…incredible.

Sam also loves being carried around on my back in any sort of carrying contraption – I put him on my back in the carrier that I made a lot. The one in this picture is one I borrowed from a friend to try out – it’s a Boba carrier and I think we both enjoyed using it for a few days! Much better weight distribution for a baby that wiggles a lot. May have to see about getting one of those sometime.

Happy 8 months Mr. Small-but-mighty.

(To be perfectly clear, the cake was for my birthday. While we do enjoy celebrating the little milestones around here, we don’t actually do cakes for every month!).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    February 28, 2011 4:28 pm

    Happy 8 months Sammy! You’re one cute kid 😉

  2. Mom permalink
    February 28, 2011 6:36 pm

    Oh Sam. What a cutie. How’m I supposed to work?

Leave a Reply

