Skip to content

My girl sews.

May 13, 2011

Just before we left for Vancouver (oh wait – did I mention we went to Vancouver for a week? We did. We are back now. Post and pictures coming soon.) Anika asked me if she could do some “real sewing”.

We talked about it a few times and she was really intent – she wanted to try this.

I kept wondering about whether I was nuts – whether 4 was too young or not – but…I decided to go for it.

I drew a picture of a heart on a scrap of fabric, and then made little dots around the perimeter of the heart (think connect the dots with no numbers). I threaded a needle with a double strand of embroidery floss and let her have at it.

And my goodness if she didn’t do the whole thing exactly right. She needed a little help figuring out which side of the fabric to put the needle through some of the time (she’d occasionally get confused and wrap the thread around the edge of the fabric) but she did a great job handling the needle and keeping her fabric from puckering too much.

I am absolutely thrilled that she’s interested in learning – and so proud of her that she could actually do it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 13, 2011 11:52 am

    Good for you, Ani! No pricked fingers, I hope? I am sure I will hear all about it next time she calls me.

  2. Hubby permalink
    May 16, 2011 1:46 am

    Ha! As if we didn’t know she takes after her mom 😉
    Count me among the impressed crowd.

Leave a Reply

