Skip to content

Hair Today….

May 31, 2011

I have a whole lot of posts I’m behind on – I mean, they are all written; the problem is just that they are written down in my head and not anywhere else. Oh well – hopefully in the next day or two I’ll catch up!!

What I want to share with you today is about hair. Specifically, Anika’s hair.

Girlfriend has a lot of it. She’s had hair since she was born. I had to clip it out of her eyes by the time she was about six months old. She had pony tails by a year, easily. In addition to having lots of it? Her hair is gorgeous. And I know, I know, I’m her mother; she’s my special snowflake, blah blah blah. But seriously – she has really lovely hair. It’s thick; it’s got some really nice curl and wave to it (though it will go straight easily too). It streaks blonde in the summer – to the point that I have had people stop me in the grocery store to ask me if I highlight it. (Uh, no. She’s four.)

If I may be perfectly honest, I am TOTALLY jealous of this kid’s hair. Mine is nothing like hers.

This was her hair outside this afternoon.

Yeah, it’s a little long.

Okay, really long. Really REALLY long.

Too long, in fact, for a four-year old who wants to play outside and climb things and do gymnastics, and swim in a pool without accidentally choking herself. (For the record, I HAVE cut it, many times – it also grows fast, is the thing).

So we decided that once her ballet recitals were done for the year, we’d cut it. (I needed the length to do a neat bun – I am horrible at hair buns so I need all the help I can get!). So this is what we did today.

I’m kind of in awe – she looks so grown up to me now.

I still think she’s gorgeous.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    May 31, 2011 1:11 am

    Gran and papa think she’s gorgeous too.

  2. Mom permalink
    May 31, 2011 1:27 am

    She must love the feeling! It looks just beautiful.

  3. Angela permalink
    May 31, 2011 2:35 am

    Love the new do! And, she has all summer to grow back the bun;o) It was a great bun ….:oP

  4. Hubby permalink
    May 31, 2011 4:07 am

    Yes, absolutely gorgeous. I just wish *sniff* that we had watched Tangled before we cut her hair… 😉

    She has what I like to think of as my hair, but in truth it’s much nicer than my hair as well. She’s unto herself; unique and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

