Skip to content

Out with the ballet shoes; in with the cleats!

June 7, 2011

Okay; I DO have some crafty/sewing posts coming soon – promise! In the meantime though, I thought I’d share some pictures from Anika’s new activity – one that started a short 24 hours after ballet ended for the year!

That’s right…girlfriend’s playing soccer.

Now, I never played soccer as a little kid (or a big kid, come to think of it) – I know absolutely nothing about it (other than try to kick the ball in the net, don’t touch it with your hands unless you are a goalie and…uh…nope, that’s it). Brandon, on the other hand, played soccer for years and years, and did some coaching. He loves it and would probably still play if he could!

So Brandon got pulled in to help coach this team – which I think is making it fun for both of them.

The format for this age group is great – they basically practice for about half an hour, and then play a short scrimmage against each other for the last half. The practice part is pretty straightforward – they play games and do little drills that teach them some soccer skills.

The scrimmage is a little more…free form. Or something. Ani wasn’t a big fan of the scrimmage – I think the big pile of people trying to get the ball kind of turned her off the first time…but I am interested to see how it goes.

Sam was a dutiful little brother and demonstrated his clapping ability. Then he crawled over to climb up on the chair of a nice lady who was trying to read her magazine in peace. Sam disagreed with that approach and thought it would be more fun to throw grass on her magazine. I rescued him. (And her).

Anika was *pretty* sure going into this that she had the best “super soccer kick” in the world. I’m not sure she’s quite as confident now, having seen some of the other kids, but…you know. It’s good to have goals. Plus, she’s pretty bendy from all that ballet.

I can’t say enough good things about the coach for their team – he seemed really great and seemed to really “get” kids. His daughter is on the team too, which is nice. I think he really understands that this is a fun thing for the kids and it needs to be a fun thing for them – if anyone is too tough on them at this stage it’s pretty much going to ruin it for them. So he’s great fun – anyone who calls a grass fight in the middle of a “team huddle” is okay by me.

She looks so professional with her little foot up on that ball there, doesn’t she? Crack me right up.

It’s going to be interesting to see how this year goes – I’m thrilled that she’s doing this and I think she likes it so far…but she isn’t as completely drawn to it as she is to ballet, for sure. She’s going to have to work at it a bit, and I’m really interested to see how that plays out. I think it’s a great opportunity to teach her about sticking with something until it gets easier; being part of a team.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    June 7, 2011 7:44 pm

    She looks like she’s having a great time!! I need the first picture as an original (or reduced in size somehow) so I can send this to my Dad. He’ll love it!! Shows off the Tim Horton’s, plus her adorable little face.

    Good work Chris – these aren’t easy pictures to even take!

Leave a Reply

