Skip to content

Sneak Preview….

June 10, 2011

I’m working on a “First Birthday” outfit for Sammo. I haven’t sewn much for him before because a) I’m lazy, b) dresses are easier, and c) he’s a baby and he’s (in theory) growing fast and a lot.

But I have been storing up ideas for him, and the truth is that we were getting to a point where it might actually be more practical to sew for him since he’s so small and skinny….if I’m looking just at waist size dude can still fit into some 3-6 month stuff comfortably, but the length is a problem.

ALTHOUGH – we may be on to something with the boy’s growth; we are investigating some stuff and he may actually start to pick up speed again…so fingers crossed!

Anyway, as part of his 1st birthday outfit, I made him some pants/shorts. Crops really. Not capris, because those are girly. Manly crops. Mops? (Man-crops?) Bops? (Boy-crops?). Consider the comments as the voting arena for the name of these pants!

I wanted something longer than shorts, because Sam can’t walk yet – he crawls everywhere and his knees get pretty banged up outside. But it’s summer and it’s hot, so I didn’t want full on long pants either.

The pants are lined with a super lightweight seersucker, and I used that fabric to make the drawstring tie and the kneepads as well.

I left the edges of the kneepads raw so that they’d fray to the stitching line in the wash – I think they look funky like that.

I cuffed them with a really skinny hem (because I didn’t want them to get in the way of the kneepads!).

These pants are a giant mash up of Dana‘s kid pants ideas. I used her kneepad pants tutorial ideas, combined with some of her general tips and tricks about boy pants, and added pockets to the mix (that I lined with the plaid fabric. Am a sucker for detail). Since Sam is so much smaller than her patterns I ended up just tracing a pair of Sam’s pants and adjusting the pattern from there – it worked out pretty well!

I am still working on the shirt, and will post a picture of that when it’s done…along with my almost 1-year-old model!!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    June 10, 2011 3:32 pm

    I think Sam should match his Chacha. Anychance you can make an extra large version of them? Same details and fabric. Would look phenomenal IMO.

  2. Hubby permalink
    June 10, 2011 3:33 pm

    Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, if he is to match his Chacha, you’ll need to make him a hoodie to wear with this.

  3. Mom permalink
    June 10, 2011 3:37 pm

    Too cute for words!!

  4. jito permalink
    June 13, 2011 8:46 pm

    I vote for Bops. 🙂 I’ve been lurking but am enjoying reading about all your projects and vacations and forays into the world of eating chicken once again.

    J

  5. Sarah DV permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:09 pm

    Hi! Just (finally) catching up on reading your blog now that we’re back on Canadian soil Very cute bermuda shorts!

  6. June 16, 2011 2:35 am

    Bops. Bops. Bops. That’s what they are. Bops. 😀 ❤

  7. David&Amy permalink
    July 31, 2011 12:49 am

    Love the pics Christy!

    We might need to hire your hand to kiddie garment sewing! You really have such a creative edge to you with that stuff. Or perhaps hand-me-downs like old times 🙂 (I never needed to buy clothes until I entered college…. (up until that time I had Brandon & Tim’s second hands) -i.e. “It’s better in GOA” t-shirts 😛

    Great memories.

Trackbacks

  1. An outfit for a boy who is ONE « Pintuck

Leave a Reply

