Skip to content

Uno

June 17, 2011

My Sammo is ONE WHOLE YEAR OLD today. I made him a special Boy Who Is One outfit and everything – but you can’t see it yet because he’s sleeping and I haven’t taken any pictures yet. I will have another post up later today with pictures and details.

How nuts is that?!? I am…well. It’s been quite a year. Actually, it’s been quite a month (or two, since I forgot about the post for 11 months whoops forgive me).

Sam’s kind of exploded developmentally in the last six weeks or so, which is SO AWESOME to see. The big one is communication. He finally figured out what that whole signing thing was and jumped on it, which is SO helpful. The big ones he uses regularly are the usual ‘more’, ‘all done’, and ‘milk’. He also knows ‘thank you’, and ‘book’ and uses those regularly too.

He completely blew my mind one night a couple of weeks ago – he was all dirty from playing outside, so I was giving him a quick bath before bed. We were just about finished, and he looked at me and signed “all done, book, milk.” Me – blink. Blinkblinkblink. ?! Did you just…sign a SENTENCE?! I still have no idea if it was a coincidence or if he actually meant that he was all done with the bath and wanted to go do his bedtime routine of book and milk, but either way…sheesh kid. Stop scaring me.

Sam does not wish to be constrained by mere signs though – oh no. He started pretty early (somewhere between 10 and 11 months) with saying “go go go!” He says it a lot; occasionally in context but more often not, which makes it even funnier. He has learned what the dog says (Boof!) and will point out anything even sort of animal like and cheerfully “boof” at it.

A few weeks ago Sam and I went to my parents’ house a couple of days ahead of Anika and Brandon (who were at school and working respectively). Sam was looking at the screensaver on my parents’ computer and spotted a picture of Ani going by. “Anka!” he declared proudly. Hee.

Books are a newly discovered love for Sam too. He picked up a copy of Snugglepuppy (yay Sandra Boynton) at the library and wanted to read it ALL THE TIME. He will crawl over the arm of the rocking chair to reach his box of books, grab one, and then snuggle onto your lap and bounce until you start reading. He’s branching out now – has discovered Goodnight Gorilla and Peek-A-Who and is in love with both of those too. (And yes, he does boof! at the gorilla in goodnight gorilla too).

He has a Very Specific goodnight routine now too, and if I accidentally skip part of it he will wave frantically at the door to his room until I go out and restart the whole thing. First we say goodnight to daddy and Ani. Then we wave goodnight at Ani’s “Anika” sign on the door to her room. Then we wave goodnight at Sam’s “Sam” sign on the door to HIS room, and say “Goodnight Sam!” Next we close his door and wave goodnight to the little painting of the bunny and the two trees on his wall (Goodnight bunny! Goodnight trees!). And no, we will not wave goodnight to the trees and the bunny unless we have closed the door to his room first. THERE ARE RULES. Then we have to say goodnight to the polar bear painting. THEN we can sit down for books (boof?) and milk.

Sam is more of a troublemaker than Anika was I think. He likes to ‘go-go-go’ and get into stuff regularly. He knows EXACTLY what I mean when I say “No touch Sam!” and will even sit back and grin and shake his finger at me before he goes charging off to grab whatever it was again. He wants so badly to figure things out and doesn’t care what it takes to do it – I watched him crawl headfirst down the two stairs into our front hall several times in a row…and then figure out that it was way easier if he turned himself around and backed down the stairs. He totally taught himself – which is great because I am never good at figuring out how to teach that stuff. It is also NOT great because if I’m not really paying attention he can disappear down a flight of stairs pretty fast.

He loves to be outside – LOVES it. He will point longingly at the door to the backyard any time we are even remotely in the vicinity. Brandon bought the kids a little water play table sink thing and Sam will cheerfully stand and play at it for an hour or more at a time. He loves it.

Health wise he’s still pretty tiny. We’re working on figuring that out – pediatrician appointments, blood work, allergy testing, dietician – all kinds of stuff going on that way. The current suspicion is that he has some kind of milk allergy or sensitivity that’s been causing problems. I cut out dairy about 6 weeks ago now, and it actually seems like it might be working. His weight went up a little more sharply at the last appointment, putting him at more like the 2nd percentile instead of the 1st…so maybe! We’ll figure it out. The consensus from all involved is that he’s really healthy overall though. So that’s a big relief.

Dude has four teeth now (as of yesterday). Hopefully that explains some of the lousy sleep we’ve had lately…we will see.

He loves to stand and cruise along the furniture. He hasn’t made the leap yet to standing unassisted but I’m guessing it won’t be too long now!

My favourite new development, which has really just happened in the last week or so, is that he and Ani now play together – not just near each other, but together. They chase each other around; she will put him in the laundry basket and push him. They play outside together. It’s pretty neat to see their relationship developing and evolving…I know he drives her a bit nuts and will likely continue to do so…but I love seeing them together, and I love seeing her appreciate him as a playmate too.

Also? He knows most of the actions for “wheels on the bus”. Clearly the boy is a genius.

Happy birthday little man!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    June 17, 2011 6:34 pm

    Happy first brithday my son. You’re a good looking fella.

  2. Mom permalink
    June 17, 2011 7:14 pm

    He is bee-yoo-tiful boy, isn’t he! What makes me think he’s going to have a harder time giving up the soother? Hmm. He’s so cute with it, I can’t find it in my heart to mind. So, can I make popsicles, hunh, can I? What are the rulez?

    Happy Birthday, Sam!!

  3. June 17, 2011 8:07 pm

    Happy birthday, Sam 1.0! Glad to see he’s got his routines down. He’ll understand the ladies, then. 😉 I’m going to start signing “all done” and “book” to Jeff now, when it’s bedtime. I mean, it seems to make sense. Boof.

Leave a Reply

