Skip to content

Popsicles, Waterfall Braids, and a Dora Dress.

June 28, 2011

We are visiting my parents this week, which is always great because my mother actually LIKES to change diapers and there is lots of fun stuff to do here. (The pool! The yard! Different parks! Gran and Papa have CABLE!). It’s been a really nice way to kick off Anika’s summer vacation.

Yesterday, Cheri posted a really cool demonstration about how to do waterfall braids – which I’d never heard of before but am smitten with already. I tried it on my hair and ended up with something that looked kind of mangled (though in fairness to me I had Sam clinging to my leg saying ‘mumumumumumum’ the whole time – distracting and not so easy to spend time fussing with my hair).

Plan B – I wrangled my own hair into a ponytail (sophisticated. I know. Try not to be jealous). Then I put waterfall braids in Anika’s hair.

I’m pretty sure they look better on her than on me anyway.

Sidenote: Popsicles a la my mom – use an immersion blender to puree a cantaloupe and a banana together. Pour the mixture into popsicle molds and freeze it. Works like a charm; it’s totally healthy – it’s only fruit! – and better yet, it doesn’t really drip. And if you want something even easier, try popsicles a la my husband – cut watermelon into chunks, put sticks in them, and freeze them. The end. Also completely awesome. Also you can give them to your baby as soon as you’ve introduced melon. This is particularly useful when your kid whacks his mouth and won’t keep an ice cube on it – he’s usually much more willing to deal with a popsicle. Not that I know from experience or anything. Ahem.

So Ani’s dress – it’s a Dora the Explorer dress. Which…I KNOW. It’s not really my thing – I don’t really do character fabrics or patterns like that or whatever.

But the thing is, part of letting your kid find her own style is….letting her choose. So when we were in NC in march I took her into the fabric store and let her choose. We ended up with a meter of Dora fabric and a meter of Minnie Mouse fabric.

It’s almost embarrassing actually – this fabric is sold already shirred with the elastic thread and already hemmed. (Seriously. So crazy). The ONLY thing you have to do is sew up the back seam and put some straps on it. I could have made it even easier by using bias tape, but I didn’t have any that was a colour I wanted to use. So I made some from some pink fabric I had and sewed them on.

It took me maybe an hour to make both dresses (and really most of that was cutting and ironing the straps). And I was on the phone with a friend the whole time. Truthfully I’m not even sure it counts as “making stuff”. Hemming a pair of pants is more work.

But it was fun and it was easy and it was a great way to surprise her – I left both dresses on a chair in her room for her to see when she woke up in the morning.

Then she surprised me right back by asking me to give the pink Minnie Mouse dress to her closest friend. One of those moments where I realize maybe I am actually getting some parts of this parenting gig right.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    June 28, 2011 9:25 am

    Not just watermelon! Any melon, pineapple, strawberries, grapes even!
    It’s perfect for the infant/toddler who isn’t ready for a long list of ingredients (or a whack of refined sugar), or the parent who doesn’t want to pay $2/popsicle…

  2. Hubby permalink
    June 28, 2011 9:56 am

    Love the pictures of Anika — I miss her. Can’t wait to give her hugs and kisses…

  3. Mom permalink
    June 28, 2011 9:56 am

    She looked so cute – those dresses take me back to 1980s when we had so many of them for Ani’s Mom and her Auntie Shannon! Easy to wear, and so cool on a hot summer’s day. I’m also so glad she liked the popsicles! And Sammo did too, yay! I promise a bluer pool next trip!

  4. June 28, 2011 10:29 pm

    (Gasp!) What??? The pinwheel skirt is gone from Pintuck homepage! I did love that…but Sammo in the grass is great too! (Christy, where ARE you?)

  5. June 29, 2011 10:23 pm

    I love everything about this, from the Sammo in the grass pic to the scribbly new font to linking to more blogs to trying on dresses to eating yummy fruity popsicles… Fab-you-luss. Miss you guys!!

Leave a Reply

