Skip to content

Hot Date.

July 9, 2011

Well, my girl and my husband are camping tonight with friends (Sam and I will go join them for the day tomorrow). Do you know what this means? Sam is in bed. I have the house to myself. Do you know how quiet it is?? IT IS AWESOME.

Not that I don’t love my family; I do. SO much. But with summer vacation being here there is just no silence ever. And also, I am not alone – EVER.

So this is a rare treat. Here is loosely what I have lined up:

I KNOW. That is a lot of fun packed into one picture. The pizza makings are fairly self-explanatory, except that I feel compelled to point out that the basil is from our very own backyard, grown in the smashing herb box that my husband built for us. I should also probably mention that the fine folks at Daiya are playing it pretty fast and loose with the phrase “deliciously dairy free”. You know what has dairy?? Cheese. Cheese has dairy. And when you try to make cheese without dairy the results are…..sketchy, at best. I will say that these are the best soy free option I’ve found so far though I am SO VERY OPEN to suggestion!

Up there in the far corner are the makings for rosemary (also from our garden!) – peach lemonade. I wanted to make something like what Katy does, but I didn’t think of it until I was at the grocery store and had no idea what to buy. So instead of lemons and peach nectar, I came home with a can of peach iced tea and a bottle of lemonade. I haven’t actually MADE Katy’s version before (though I really need to try that!) but this was actually not bad in a pinch. I pretty much threw the iced tea and lemonade into a pitcher in a 1:2 ratio (ish) and then threw in some sprigs of rosemary and a bunch of ice. Refrigerated the whole thing and voila. It was really good.

The other little thing in the corner is my new toy – I bought a Silhouette SD. I am SO excited to figure out what this baby can do. I thought they were kind of interesting…but pretty much once I found out I can cut freezer paper on it? As in, no more spending hours and hours with my exacto knife?? I was IN. I bought it mostly for sewing stuff – applique, freezer paper, rhinestones, etc. I am NOT a paper crafter particularly – I have done a couple of scrapbooks but I’m not especially good at it. But I figured I’d try this whole thing out by making birthday cards for the two kids whose party we are going to (at the campsite where Ani and Brandon are) today.

So I did.

I will tell you for free that those two things took me like a ZILLION hours. I thought I’d blast through these in an hour and have time left to do some ironing, laundry folding, and get to bed early. HAHAHAHAHAAAA no. It’s actually that little “Happy Birthday” circle on the card on the left that killed me. I tried it like three or four times out of different cardstock, with different cut settings – I had to figure out how to use a bunch of the tools that were not totally intuitive (the knife; the compound shape tool; the weld tool; etc.) and when I finally got it cut right getting it all pulled away from the other design without tearing it was horrendous. Once I managed to conquer THAT, I sat there blinking at this thing that was like….the width of an eyelash trying to figure out how the heck to get glue onto that. (I used elmers. You can TOTALLY see it in the picture. I’m thinking this is not the best way to do it but OH WELL). I think there are some things I’d do differently next time, but overall I think it’s fun and I learned a LOT about the machine doing these.

(Ironically the second card took me like 1/2 hour total and I like it way better but OH WELL! LESSON LEARNED!)

I realize that owning a Silhouette is pretty dorky. I KNOW. It is. But I’m still really excited about what I might be able to do with it. I love that you can make your own designs with it; use your own images and fonts – you aren’t limited to cartridges or anything like that. The tool actually is pretty intuitive to use – there’s a learning curve, for sure, and there are things I need to figure out, but I was able to figure out how to do some things (like replace the scalloped edge of the bottom of the second card with the Happy Birthday letters and weld it to the rectangle) pretty easily – it’s fairly intuitive, which lets face it, is the goal for most software design. If I have to read a book to figure out which buttons to use?? NO. I will read the book to figure out how to do what *I* want to do with it but not to learn about what “their” buttons are. That’s not helpful. Teach me how to make a card; work with vinyl; whatever – I’m all over that. (Wow, who saw that former tech writer speech coming out of nowhere?! Yikes. But that said, I’ve worked with and written about some really bad software and worked with and written about really great software – and this is much more in the direction of great than crappy. Pretty much I think all these guys need are about 20 good solid “How do I do this?” tutorials and they are good to go. In my oh so humble opinion. See? They need me.)

What’s making me laugh is that I keep trying to justify my purchase as *actually* being kind of cool. I’ll be all “OH yeah, I know. I’m such a geek. But you know, it’s kind of useful really….I can make my own CHRISTMAS tags!!!” And then there’s this pause. Eehhhyeah. Fortunately after four years of engineering and 8+ years in a computer engineering company, I’m pretty good at owning my dorkiness.

But you know, if you need Christmas tags?? Call me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    July 9, 2011 10:09 pm

    No matter how geeky or dorky you may brand yourself, I love you. And isn’t it about time for a hot date featuring us? =)

  2. Angela Quesnel permalink
    July 10, 2011 1:53 pm

    I think it will be tremendously hand for all kinds if things! So much fun:0) A thought for the circle thingy – what about spray adhesive? No suggestions for the dairy free cheese however:0/

  3. Chris permalink
    July 10, 2011 9:12 pm

    These tutorials? http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/tutorials.aspx. Can’t believe you went for the 2D appliance when you could have had *this*: http://pp3dp.com/. 😉 Dairy-free pizza? Forget about the cheese and go the pesto route instead, maybe?

    • July 11, 2011 7:55 am

      HA; yes – re: the tutorials – they aren’t bad; I just want more of them :). And the 3D cutter is CRAZY but…I think it would be really hard to sew that teapot model onto a t-shirt. I’m just sayin… 🙂

  4. July 14, 2011 10:17 pm

    Christy! your blog is really funny!!

    glad to have found it!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

