Skip to content

Gran.

July 19, 2011

Gran had about 8 pairs of shoes in her closet at all times that were almost identical – but not quite. She loved beautiful things.

Gran had an incredibly distinct laugh…..and an incredibly distinct way of saying “Oh HUEY!” at my granddad when he’d walk in the house with mud on his shoes.

Gran used to sweep the deck at the cottage. We could never figure out why. It seemed kind of like washing the soap – with all the trees around by the time you were finished one side the other side was a mess again. Still, she kept at it.

Gran made the best maple cake this side of anywhere. It involves a big platter and a spoon – it’s impressive. As soon as I can eat dairy again I’ll make one.

She had a heart necklace made out of rubies and diamonds that my granddad gave her. I never saw her without it.

Gran put up with my granddad for 62 years of marriage. She also loved him to bits and pieces.

Gran loved cocktail hour.

Gran always dressed for dinner.

Gran loved to be around her family – even when she got older and wasn’t as involved in doing whatever the rest of us were doing, she loved watching.

Gran taught me how to play head to head solitaire. Girlfriend was FAST.

She had a deck of cards at the cottage that looked like a pack of Winston cigarettes. I learned how to play many card games with that deck of cards. I wonder what happened to them?

Not coincidentally, Gran used to smoke Winstons. Not so much smoke them as wave them around during cocktail hour. She stopped many many years ago now.

Gran met both of my living kids. I think she liked them.

Gran always seemed so proper and carefully turned out….but I saw her bhangra dance at my wedding with Brandon’s Indian relatives. It was impressive.

Gran really liked my husband. He really liked her too.

Gran always used to go down to the lake for a swim at 4pm every afternoon at the cottage. We weren’t allowed to be in the water at the same time because we might splash her hair.

Gran got her hair done every week. As a little kid I could never understand that. As an adult I think it sounds like a lovely way to do things.

Gran always had beautiful nails. She was a fan of regular manicures.

My granddad used to tease her mercilessly. She used to protest mightily but I think she kind of liked it.

 

Gran left us last Thursday morning. It was time, and it was peaceful which is about all you can hope for I think. We will all miss her terribly – no one as much as Granddad. It’s okay though…she left her mark on all of us.

And apparently some of us left our mark on her too. (Sam liked her lipstick.)

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 10:50 am

    Beautiful tribute. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Hubby permalink
    July 19, 2011 11:41 am

    Sweet and fitting send off to a grand lady. We love you.

  3. Mom permalink
    July 19, 2011 12:09 pm

    Thank you sweetheart. My Mum would have loved this. And she loved you very much, too…plus, she thought your family, Brandon, Sam and Ani were pretty fabulous.

  4. July 19, 2011 7:41 pm

    I have this memory of her when she thought something was beautiful or fabulous… her hands would come up and she would kind of shake them… she would usually make some kind of delighted shriek… anyway. Oh, and her arms with bracelets, hands… all of that. OH, and the way she would do that nervous trill hum when she was borderline upset about something… that was one of my favourites.

    Thank you, Christy. xo

  5. July 20, 2011 7:05 pm

    That’s a lovely photograph of Sam and your Gran. She sounds like a wonderful lady. The bhangra dancing made me smile. And the separate swimming to preserve her hair do. Beautiful post and a lovely tribute.

  6. Pia Rabbani permalink
    July 21, 2011 8:35 pm

    Hi Christy, so sorry to hear…. the tribute was beautiful. It’s never easy to let go of a gran..

    I hope you still remember me… cause I still remember you 🙂
    I see you have beautiful kids. I have been meaning to write to you and just haven’t had the time. I had the chance to chat with your dad and your sister a little while back hence i know about this …. very nice job!!
    Hope to hear from you… Pia

  7. July 27, 2011 4:30 am

    Very nice tribute … beautiful memories.

Trackbacks

  1. Gran’s Memorial « Pintuck

Leave a Reply

