Skip to content

The Backyard – Where the Magic Happens

July 24, 2011

Well, SOME magic anyway. At least I think it’s kind of magical. And I will tell you why.

It’s because I am not so much with the gardening. So when this happens??

Magic baby.

Actually, no – it’s not. I happened to have had the good sense to marry a guy who actually IS good with the gardening. Oh sure, it leads to its own conflicts (Him: I thought you were going to water for me?? Me: I did! Him: But nothing is wet! You have to do it like it’s been raining! Me: But…I did? I thought? No? Oh.). But overall it’s great because he knows what he is doing and even if I don’t, I am willing to take direction. It’s just that I need a lot of it when it comes to gardening. Yes, even the obvious stuff.

BUT – it’s paying off! Because August is approaching and that means that things are starting to happen! The tomato bushes are taller than Anika. The herb box under the window is exploding with stuff. And best of all…check this out!

How gorgeous is that? My husband and daughter gave me two blueberry bushes for mother’s day one year which we actually just got around to purchasing and putting in the ground THIS year. There are two of them, and I have no idea what kinds they are. I DID pay attention to the part where there had to be two of them in the same general vicinity in order for them to bear fruit….but they are on opposite sides of the yard and still we are getting fruit, so I guess that works? (See above, not with the gardening).

The tomatoes are coming along…

We also planted some roma tomatoes this year, so it will be great to see how those turn out.

Here’s our cucumber.

We have two cucumber plants this year and were really excited about them – they grew like crazy and we have tons of these flowers, but somehow we have no cucumbers. I can’t figure out if a bug is getting to them and they are dying, or if there’s some other weird thing going on…but basically they will be trucking along fine, and we’ll see the little baby cucumber show up, and then the center of the flower will go brown and the whole thing dies.

I have no idea. The flowers are pretty, but we have no cucumbers.

Then there’s the herb box that Brandon built this year – it’s awesome. About two feet wide by about nine feet long, and it’s all devoted to herbs.

Here’s the right third or so of the box.

It’s devoted entirely to basil. I have no problem with this. We picked up a few varieties this round.

This one has a gorgeous purple colour that didn’t fully come through in the picture. I love it as a plant; I admit it is a little odd in food – it can give things a strange colour. But it’s an absolutely divine flavour.

This one is a Greek basil – teeny tiny leaves, but the scent and flavour are SO intense. Lovely.

This half of the box is devoted more to sage…

…and rosemary!

 

It’s a good haul so far this year – I’m excited to be able to pick fresh tomatoes every day. Not long now!! And in case any of my friends from further south are reading this and wondering why it is only now that my tomatoes are ripening now, I will give you a hint. It is because MY house is north of YOUR house (no, really – it is), and at MY house, NOW is when tomatoes get ripe. The end 🙂

Thanks for reading! Come on over if you need basil – I am pretty sure I have some extra.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    July 25, 2011 9:48 am

    Great pics. And the blueberry bushes were *promised* on a long distant mother’s day, but the backyard was undergoing some extensive upgrades at the time. On a geological time scale who even notices these delays?!

  2. Mom permalink
    July 25, 2011 5:05 pm

    Gorgeous photos, Chris. Well done!

  3. July 27, 2011 4:25 am

    Nice garden! Well yours is certainly ahead of mine … and I’m south of you!;o) Like the pic of the blueberries:o)

  4. July 29, 2011 11:16 am

    I am inspired! I want an herb box on my deck! It gets so much sun up there, I would have to be careful I guess… but I am dying to get some herbs growing… thanks Chris!

Trackbacks

  1. Mothers Day, May Long Weekend, and Other Life Happenings. « Pintuck

Leave a Reply

