Skip to content

Summer: Kicking my butt from here to September!

August 9, 2011

Well, that’s not true actually. It’s just that we’ve been at home for the last four weeks, which has been really nice – but also? It’s a lot of kid time. I love spending this much time with Anika – in fact, I have an Anika post that I will put up just as SOON as I have thirty seconds on my computer. She’s completely amazed me in about 10 different ways this summer.  But you know? Four is kind of a….chatty age.

Most of my days go like this:

Anika: “Hey Mommy? What should I do now?”

Me: “I don’t know Ani…what do you feel like doing? Sam, get off my leg so I can finish making dinner.”

Anika: “Hey Mommy? Can I have a snack? And can you tell me a story?”

Me: “No, it’s almost dinner time….Sam, get away from the wine rack!! No touch!!”

Anika: “Hey Mommy!! Watch me! This is my fairy land strawberry shortcake jazz dance!”

Me: “….wow, that’s great Ani….SAMUEL!!!”

Cue the phone ringing and me saying hello.

Anika: “HEYMOMMYHEYMOMMYWATCHTHISHEYMOMMYI’MSTILLMOREHUNGRYYOUKNOWWHATMOMMY?HEYMOMMY?MAMA?”

Samuel: “QUACKQUACKQUACKQUACKAHKA!”

What is it about the phone that makes children think they need to shout at you??

Basically, my days have been a really loud (but also fun) period of burning daylight until it’s bedtime. And then I put them to bed. And then my ears ring for a solid half hour.

I am enjoying summer tremendously. It’s just that I think that I require a few minutes every day to actually….catch my breath and figure out what it is I’m trying to accomplish that day. Or to be able to look at my computer screen without Sam climbing onto my lap and bouncing up and down and saying “Quack Quack!” very expectantly. (He’s pretty much smitten with the video of Raffi singing the 5 Little Ducks song on You Tube. And by smitten I mean COMPLETELY OBSESSED. And also CONVINCED that every screen he sees anywhere is totally capable of playing that video immediately. You know, the kid only knows a handful of words. It leads to a lot of quacking.)

The long and short of this is that I’m having trouble stringing together enough words to form a grocery list on any given day….let alone a blog post. But I have been doing a few little sewing projects here and there that I can’t wait to show you! Just as soon as someone takes these kids away for half an hour.

They have to bring them back again though. I kind of like them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    August 10, 2011 9:47 am

    6 little ducks is his current favorite, followed closely by 5 little ducks and “bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon”.

    Err, so I suppose I should take the kids for a 1/2 hour sometime? 😉

  2. August 10, 2011 10:43 am

    I’ve got a chatty 4 year old too! She talks all the time. I have to try not to just tune her out sometimes. I also have a screamy 2 year old. I spend most of my day saying “Shhh!!!”

  3. Angela Quesnel permalink
    August 10, 2011 1:51 pm

    Yeah, WHY do they do that?! I just don’t use the phone anymore. It’s so much easier having them yell at me while I’m on email.;0)

Leave a Reply

