Skip to content

First Day

September 6, 2011

My not-so-little girl started school today – her second year at the Montessori.

She requested cupcakes for dessert for her “back to school” dinner – white cupcakes with pink icing and yellow sprinkles. We obliged.

This is either her SK year or another JK year – we haven’t decided for sure yet whether she’ll be ready for Grade 1 in September next year or whether to give her another year. Her birthday is at the end of the calendar year, right around the cutoff. We don’t want to rush her, but we don’t want to hold her back either. So we will see.

She was so excited for today. All of the excitement of the first day but without the trepidation of “new place”, “new people”. She was ready this morning. Actually, she was ready last night. She got all of her clothes ready and laid out on her beanbag chair.

My favourite part of this is the part where she has neatly tucked each sock into her shoe, and carefully placed her underwear under her shirt in the correct location.

She was so excited this morning that she looked like she slept with a hanger in her mouth – couldn’t stop grinning. She was out on the front step waiting for us about 20 minutes before it was time to leave.

Sam misses her terribly already.

I do too. I am enjoying the freedom and routine that we can get back to – the mental space for me to organize myself and my days – but she’s awfully fun to be around, and I miss her.

Go be awesome little girl. We are so proud of you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    September 6, 2011 1:56 pm

    We are too!!!!!!!!…………..

    Love

  2. Hubby permalink
    September 6, 2011 2:04 pm

    I believe the French say it best: le sigh…

    Wow.

    I love both my cuties. All three in fact. Lucky guy I am.

  3. Mom permalink
    September 6, 2011 2:12 pm

    I’m so glad she was excited. This was quite adorable; and then there are pangs. (She’s sure getting a lot of mileage out of that hairband!)

  4. September 6, 2011 4:50 pm

    Ani looks so pretty, I love the way she organised all her clothes! That so cute! J is born right before the cut off for the school year here in the UK so we are thinking we might be better off not rushing her. I wish we had a Montessori near us, it obviously looks as though it suits Ani down to the ground! And J is starting preschool tomorrow so me and my little boy will be at home without our big girl too 😦

  5. September 6, 2011 8:44 pm

    So awesome. These pictures are all wonderful, as always… I just love the ones of her and Sam on the steps. And the one of her sitting with her backpack on. I can’t wait to hear how everything went!! 🙂

  6. Laurie Payne permalink
    September 6, 2011 9:24 pm

    I love this post! Especially being on the receiving end of all of the little smiling faces as they enter the school! Crazy to think that she is so big now! …And Sam and all his hair, wow!!! I love all of the pics!

  7. Laura Addington permalink
    September 6, 2011 10:16 pm

    Love this!!! Beautiful pics and wonderfully written!

  8. Tess permalink
    September 7, 2011 12:22 am

    Awwww…. she’s so awesome, and so are you! Zach’s first day is on Monday, but we go in together on Thurs to check the place out. I know I am the tough guy type, but I’m crying already. Time flies too fast when you are having fun! Hope to see you guys soon!

Leave a Reply

