Skip to content

Gah.

September 12, 2011

I have a sewing project in process that I’m really excited to show you – I think it’s pretty cool and will be really useful. HOWEVER. My machine and my own skills/patience levels are conspiring against me and I’m having a wicked time finishing this thing – last night I had to rip out about 8 different seams, some of them because I legitimately figured out a cleaner way to do things after sewing them, and some of them because I was being ridiculous. (I sewed the wrong side of a zipper to something. How does that even happen?!). Then when trying to fix them, everything under the sun went wrong – my bobbin would run out of thread at an inopportune moment, my thread snapped (the heck?), and at one point my needle actually FELL OUT of my sewing machine. It was around that point that I figured it would be better for all involved if I simply SET DOWN the project and backed away slowly.

Hopefully I’ll have something to show for my efforts in another day or so.

In the meantime, and to make myself feel better, I taught Sam how to do this:

Yep, that’s right – my boy uses a spoon. It’s not….elegant. But he did it!

Look at that concentration. The boy is destined for greatness. CLEARLY.

See? Proof positive that I’m not entirely useless. Sam can kind of use a spoon.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 12:50 pm

    Just had to say your comment cracked me up! Thx for a good morning chuckle! You rock!

  2. Angela Quesnel permalink
    September 13, 2011 7:01 pm

    Best life skill ever! Good job Sam and you too of course!;0) About the sewing Mishaps, that seems to happen every time I sew – I have no patience for do overs:0/ I’m sure it will be beautiful!

  3. September 14, 2011 12:46 pm

    Now he only needs to know how to scrape his chin – seems to me Ani learned that one from her Papa pretty quickly!! (Good boy, Sam. xox.)

    • September 14, 2011 12:47 pm

      wait, how’d that come from Christy? The above was a Gran statement…:)

Leave a Reply

