Skip to content

A Tree Grows in Ani’s Room.

September 21, 2011

I’ve been working my way through some “finishing touches” in Ani’s room. It’s good, because it’s only 18 months after she moved into that room. STOP JUDGING ME. Sam was born early and then STUFF and MORE STUFF and yeah. Here we are!

It’s not like it’s been a hardship – the room was pretty nice as it was. Brandon did a great job painting it; and all of her stuff is in there – it’s good. I just need to do some things on the walls.

I will give you a complete tour of Ani’s room improvements when they are done – but for now I want to show you the tree. TREEEE!

I really like those vinyl sticker-things you can put on walls. They peel off; they don’t wreck your paint; they are really fun. They are also mostly really expensive. In light of that, I decided to order some vinyl and use my trusty Silhouette machine to design a tree for the wall of Anika’s room. It was really easy – I picked a couple of shapes I liked and sliced them and combined things until I had a tree I liked the look of.

Brilliant! So I started cutting out the vinyl and putting up the tree. The problem was, I only had naptimes to work with so in the first pass I only cut out the wood parts of the tree and put them up.

Here’s what it looked like:

That’s right! I actually DID put the spooky old tree from that Berenstein Bears book on my four-year old’s wall and then ask her to sleep with it like that for a few days. Best mom ever, right here. (Fortunately, she didn’t mind).

And with a bit of time, we got the dark green leaves on…

And the light green leaves on….

And finally all the birds and butterflies and flowers and dragonflies!

I actually really like how it came out – and she loves it. Really fun way to dress up her room!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    September 21, 2011 3:18 pm

    Love it…I am impressed!!

  2. Mom permalink
    September 21, 2011 3:21 pm

    Adorable – now…because I am practical….can Sammo pick them off?? It really looks cute, Chris, I love it!!!

  3. September 21, 2011 4:20 pm

    Ooooo it’s lovely! Very pretty and I bet Ani is thrilled. And I’ve always loved ‘The Spooky Old Tree’ as does J. Admittedly not quite what you might what to share your room with at night but hey!
    I’m going to start work on J’s room soon (it was supposed to be finished before R was born but . . .STUFF!) and you’ve inspired me to investigate some vinyl sticker type things. Would also be interested to know if Sam picks them off the walls!

    • September 22, 2011 1:15 pm

      Hey Catherine!! Thanks for the comment – you are great. The vinyl decals are much tougher than a sticker – if you’ve got it on there well (I used a plastic scraper to go over it and really stick it to the wall) it would be hard for a small person to peel them off. Sam tried a little bit but then got distracted when he didn’t get anywhere. Picture something more like….between wallpaper and a sticker. Does that make sense? I owe you an email; will write soon! xo.

  4. September 21, 2011 5:10 pm

    So cute!!!

  5. Angela Quesnel permalink
    September 22, 2011 10:52 am

    Looks amazing! Very colourful!

  6. Jennifer permalink
    September 22, 2011 12:46 pm

    Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Ani’s Room! « Pintuck

Leave a Reply

