Skip to content

Knitting, part deux.

October 5, 2011

I haven’t blogged about it much but I have been doing some more knitting lately. I’m finding it really nice to have a smaller (i.e. more manageable) project on the go to take with me places and to do when I actually do just want to flake out with B and watch a movie or something. So it’s been really fun.

Quite awhile ago I posted this, showing the wool I’d bought to do a sweater for Anika. I finished it back in…oh, July? Maybe? June even? Awhile ago. I haven’t posted any pictures of it because my delicate flower REFUSES TO WEAR IT.

Do NOT get me started. I don’t know what is wrong with sweaters; I mean, this is a sweater that she picked out the wool and pattern for….but no. We don’t want to wear it.

I finally convinced her to put it on a few days ago to let me take some pictures of it.

To date I am pretty sure that’s the only time she’s worn it.

It’s actually pretty cute. There are a couple of things I would have adjusted on it I think, if I were to do it again. I found the fit (on Anika, anyway) to be a bit wide in the shoulders and a little shorter than I would have liked. I think if I ever convinced her to wear it for more than five minutes it might actually drive her nuts slipping off a shoulder. But who knows. If I had it to do again I might knit it a size down and just knit the body length longer to get a better fit for my kid….but of course I am not going to waste the amount of time it takes to knit on a sweater girlfriend won’t wear anyway. What a kid.

Moving on, I also had two glorious balls of Lorna’s Laces wool in a sport weight. It’s beautiful; varying shades of blue loveliness. The store I was in only had the two balls so I needed a smallish project. I picked out the Summer Flies pattern from Ravelry and went for it.

(Apologies for the slightly blurry pictures – gah, I hate that.)

I really like it but I made one rather critical mistake – I cheerfully knit this bad boy on UK size 8 needles instead of US size 8 needles. WHOOPS.

It is definitely smaller than it is supposed to be. I don’t know though – I kind of like it this size. It’s not too bulky and won’t get in my way…and if I want to wear it over my shoulders I can just pin it in the front.And it sits beautifully under a fall coat as it is.

OH HI, I’m broody today. Apparently.

I really liked the Summer Flies pattern – it’s easy; it’s a fun knit. And um…knitting it on the wrong size needles means I have almost an entire ball of the Lorna’s Laces left. On to find another project….

Thanks for reading!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:31 pm

    Great knits! The sweater is adorable, it is too bad she won’t wear it, but maybe once it gets colder and she grows into it more it will work. Kids! So mant rules about this sewing knitting business to know … good for you, for figuring it all out!:o)

  2. Mom permalink
    October 5, 2011 9:53 pm

    I love the little sweater for Ani – I am so sorry it hasn’t appealed to her enough to wear though – maybe Angela’s right, and if it’s cold enough, she’ll love the warmth, but also the freedom of short sleeves… ?

    Your blue shawl/scarf turned out beautifully! I particularly love the last picture, where you wear it as you would with a coat!! Perfect colour for you, Miss Blue Eyes!

  3. October 27, 2011 1:15 pm

    love how the shawl turned out! so pretty on you and I can’t wait to see how that mermaid costume is gonna look. You go girl!

    • October 27, 2011 1:46 pm

      Thanks! And mermaid costume….LOL. Me neither! Wanna come help?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

