Skip to content

Thankful.

October 10, 2011

I am thankful for….

Late afternoon walks in the woods…

…crazy unseasonably warm weather….coupled with insanely beautiful fall colours.

I am thankful for big sisters who help with the high hills….

…and who become more breathtakingly beautiful every day (also, stop with the growing up already! Haven’t we been over this??).

I am fairly certain that I speak for Ani and Sam when I say that they are thankful for parents….

….who are not afraid to be utterly and unabashedly ridiculous from time to time.

I am thankful for beautiful fall light.

I am thankful for Saturday morning dance parties in the living room….

….and for Thanksgiving dinner (including pie! Yay pie!) with friends.

I am thankful that I got to try out turkey for the first time in many many years! (I am also thankful for close up photography angles that kiiiiind of make it look like I remembered to take a picture of the turkey BEFORE we ate it).

I am thankful for even MORE unseasonably warm weather and even MORE walks…..

…..and for little girls who are pretty sure that milkweed is actually fairy dust.

I’m thankful for small guys who LOVE the park (and sand and dirt and bugs and outside)….

….even if they don’t handle heading home with a whole lot of grace.

(Things I am thankful for without pictures….my family, who couldn’t make the trek to us this year; my husband, who managed to make a sweet potato pie that tastes like pie WITHOUT using dairy or eggs; meeting old friends for lunch; hanging with our church people on Sunday; watching my son fall head over heels in love with a lovely dog belonging to our other friends….so much so that he actually stuck his face in her water dish. Oh dear. Also, long weekends where we just stay home – a blessing we don’t always realize. I’m also thankful for every last one of you that takes the time to check in on my little corner of the world!).

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    October 11, 2011 7:52 am

    What a late season treat this weekend has been. Thanks for capturing it so well.

  2. October 11, 2011 12:21 pm

    So sweet, and true. I am also thankful for you guys enjoying your little corner of the world by yourselves this weekend, even if we didn’t get the chance to spend it together… love to all. See you soon. xo

  3. Jennifer permalink
    October 21, 2011 4:24 pm

    We’re thankful for you too. Happy to be a part of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

