Skip to content

Halloween Costumes, Part 1

October 25, 2011

I’ll probably have a few posts (at least 2 more I think) about Halloween costumes (the making of, and the modelling of). But I thought I’d show you first how we came to decide on these particular costumes.

I started by asking Ani to draw me a picture of what she wanted to be for Halloween. This is what she came up with.

Okay! Mermaid! We can work with this. It needs a little creativity, since we live where it is cold and the mermaid costume needs to be (a) warm, and (b) a little bit modest (she’s FOUR people – there will be no coconut bras on my watch thankyouverymuch – and no, I do not care what the Little Mermaid wore, WHERE WAS HER MOTHER?!).

But we agreed on a full piece bodice attached to a long sleeve t-shirt that we will decorate the living daylights out of with fabric paint – all good. From her drawing I drew things like this:

Then I set about making her a mermaid costume, which you can see later – when it’s not still in pieces on my table. Ahem.

So then I asked Sammo the same thing – draw me what he wants to be for Halloween.

He drew this.

That’s right. Sam is going to be a duck.

It’s fortunate really, since he’s very good at quacking. Much better at quacking than at drawing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    October 26, 2011 2:08 pm

    bah ha ha ha best duck drawing ever!!!

  2. October 26, 2011 10:13 pm

    Best. Duck. Ever.

    Actually, gotta give props to Anika on the mermaid drawing!! She’s getting REALLY good!

  3. Beth O'Halloran permalink
    October 27, 2011 12:52 pm

    Christy, I just have to let you know I love your blog. I am not crafty or sew-y (is that a word, no, but I’m just going to go with it), but you are a hilarious writer and it’s nice to get to know you and your family better through the posts.

    There, I have revealed my secret, I’m a blog reader.

    I think you’re great & I really appreciate your blog.
    Beth

    • October 27, 2011 1:11 pm

      Hiya Beth! Secret blog readers are awesome :-D. Thanks for stopping by – watch out, I’ll make you sew something one of these days. (I’m trouble like that…but fear not because when I drag people over to sew stuff or knit stuff I almost always include wine. It’s all good!).

Leave a Reply

