Skip to content

Birrrrdiiiieeeee SMEEEEE!!!!

November 9, 2011

What? Don’t you know it’s rude to post a person’s age on the internet?

Today my little sister is BIRRDIIIIE SMEEE years old. I think that qualifies her as a grown up, though to be sure, it’s confusing sometimes.

Shannon’s done a lot of cool stuff this year.

She moved into an apartment that Anika refers to as “Auntie Shannon’s Tower!” (it has a lot of stairs). She moved in there with Jeff, who I refer to as “Auntie Shannon’s Tower!” (He’s a tall drink of water, that one.)

Jeff is totally adorable and totally great for my crazy sister. But it’s not HIS birthday, so we’ll talk about him some other time.

Shannon is funny. She doesn’t have a blog (BOO!) because she prefers to express herself in 140 character bursts. You can find her on twitter at http://twitter.com/forshannonski. Normally I think “gee, I’d rather hear more than that!” – but actually, I’m not sure the internet is ready for more than 140 characters at a time of Shannon. It’s probably safest for everyone this way.

You know what I realized? I didn’t actually take all that many pictures of Shannon this year. That’s kind of sad. It’s true that Shannon is THE BUSY but I think it should be a goal for next year – MORE PICTURES OF SHANNON!

Shannon still tells me what to wear and how to wear it. I am thankful for this skill. (Case in point – her facebook status today reads “Today is my birthday! I am wearing fabulous shoes!” Not coincidentally, Anika adores her).

She’s a fun girl that one. You should totally go have drinks with her sometime. She also puts up with me, which is kind of a miracle really. I say things like “Gee, I wonder if I could make that?” a lot and you can almost SEE the blood coming out of her ears…but she tolerates me, for which I am eternally grateful. She even came to church with me on Easter, which I really appreciated. We’re not in the same place in terms of faith but the fact that she values me and trusts me – and therefore is open with me – means the world to me.

Shannon and I went to Travis’ graduation in June and sat outside in the sun and crazy wind and made fun of people’s shoes for…a good portion of the ceremony. (What? They were all wearing robes! The shoes were all you could see!)

It was windy.

Shannon and I went to Cuba together in 2006, and I’m sure I’ve posted this before but I never don’t think of Shannon like this:

That’s her in a nutshell. Just a liiiittle bit nutty. She’s great.

Happy birthday!!

Now, last year I made her a birthday present and mailed it to her, and then I waited about a zillion years for Canada Post to get it together and GET IT TO HER ALREADY. She did get it, finally. This year I’m doing things backwards. Instead of mailing it to her and THEN posting about it, I’m posting pictures of it so she can see it and I’ll give it to my parents to give to her when they come visit. ACT SURPRISED SHANNON, AND I HOPE YOU LIKE IT! 🙂 (Hint: Your present is not my ratty old t-shirt or yoga pants. I know right?)

 

(I used the “It will fit me therefore it will fit you” method of sizing. It’s also super stretchy gigantic wool, so I hope it’s good!!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 9, 2011 3:30 pm

    I should probably not be first. But this is so cute!!! She will love this….Happy Birthday, Shannon – hope you feel better!

  2. Rob permalink
    November 9, 2011 3:33 pm

    Well, this makes me feel warm and fuzzy….good job Christy. It is a very nice present…the blog post and the turtle thing.

    Rob aka daddy

  3. November 9, 2011 3:43 pm

    In 140 characters or less!? I LOVE IT!!! This made my otherwise crappy afternoon awesome. Thank you!! xoxo

  4. Hubby permalink
    November 9, 2011 3:58 pm

    Was wondering if you would do a tribute post to all my family members when it’s their birthday. Say somethng special and make it from me =P

    Happy day Shanny!

  5. Karan permalink
    November 9, 2011 8:51 pm

    Very sweet and I love Shannon’s present – great job!

    Happy Birthday Shannon!!! Hope you had a great.

  6. Jill Ricker permalink
    November 10, 2011 1:19 pm

    What would we all do without great sisters? Such a nice tribute to what must be a great friendship – Nice birthday gift too!

  7. November 17, 2011 7:40 pm

    “Auntie Shannon’s Tower?” You kill me. Both of you. 🙂

  8. Catherine W permalink
    November 21, 2011 4:27 pm

    Aww what lovely sisters. And that is a very cute present. AND now I know how old I am next year. Birrrrdiiiieeeee SMEEEEE!!

Leave a Reply

