Skip to content

Happy Birthday to Aidan

December 9, 2011

I am out of town at the moment, helping my father in law prepare for his Christmas party. Making snowflake chandelier hanging thingys, paper ornaments for the walls…you name it. Pictures to come soon! In the meantime, here’s a little project I did last weekend!

Sammo’s best friend in all the world is Aidan.

Aidan is Maliah’s younger brother (Maliah being Anika’s bestest friend in the whole world).

Last week Aidan, or AAAAAAA! as Sam calls him (always with exclamation mark), turned 1, and we had the opportunity to celebrate at gymnastics!

A and Sam have done gymnastics together for the last 12 weeks on Wednesday mornings, and they KNOW how gymnastics is supposed to work. Only problem is of course that in their class there were only two of them (fortunate timing) and they didn’t actually have to wait their turn to do anything. It was more of a challenge yesterday with a birthday party of 8 kids, about 5 of whom were much older and more mobile!

Still, I think everyone had fun – Anika did some great jumping….

….Sammo loved the balance beam…..

….and Aidan loved the hula hoops!!

With second kids especially it’s always so hard to know what the right thing is to get for them – generally we’ve all learned by now that we are OVERRUN with toys and STUFF and we don’t really need anything and if you are REALLY MY FRIEND you won’t make me put ANY more stuff in my house!!

But a special one year old boy still needs to be celebrated, right?

I borrowed a shirt that fit Aidan really well and whipped up a couple of Dana’s 90-minute shirts. For fabric I went to Wal-Mart and bought a few men’s 3XL shirts in varying colours for $8/pop – I can make easily three shirts per boy out of them, long sleeves and all! (Or, in the case of the light blue one, one small boy’s shirt and one very lovely mermaid tail).

Then I used my silhouette to do some freezer paper stenciling and….voila.

If you haven’t made the 90 minute shirts before, I definitely recommend them – they are great. Be warned however that depending on the onesie you use to make your pattern, you might need to do some adjustments on the neck. The first one of these I made, I found that the front neck piece was just a little too wide for my likely – the shoulders seemed too open and the neck was a little droopy. I was able to just take the shirt apart and adjust it, so it worked okay – and then I adapted the pattern piece for the next shirt and now I’ve got it to a point that I’m really happy with. Just don’t give up on the pattern if it isn’t perfect on your first try! You’ll get it! It probably takes way less adjustment than you think.

Cutting freezer paper on my silhouette is SO EASY. I love it – I am just thrilled with doing it that way. It’s fast and simple. Neither one of my mats is particularly sticky anymore, and I would say that you probably want to use your least sticky mat to cut freezer paper with – it’s going to bond well and you don’t want it to tear when you remove it. To keep the paper from curling too badly when you peel it off, flip it over and peel the mat off the paper instead. And even if it does curl up a bit it’s not the end of the world – it’s going to flatten out easily when you iron it onto your shirt.

The cauliflower on the Aloo Gobi shirt is a great example of something I would not have attempted by hand, but that my Silhouette made very short work of. I couldn’t tell for sure how it would look when I cut it – I was halfway prepare to have a hot mess on my hand after I finished painting it – but I’m actually thrilled with the results.

Best of all (of course), the birthday boy looks delightfully handsome in his new shirt. He is such a sweetheart, and I am so happy we had a chance to celebrate him!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    December 10, 2011 9:57 am

    Happy Birthday, A! I think he is adorable, and has such a lovely temperament too – looks gorgeous in his Aloo Gobi tshirt. Good work, Chris. And A, where did you get those SHOES??

  2. December 15, 2011 7:40 pm

    Oh wow, those are SO cute… and he is so cute in his little Aloo Gobi shirt! 🙂 Love!

Leave a Reply

