Skip to content

Oh good gravy.

December 16, 2011

Is anyone else feeling like they kind of can’t wait for January?? Or is it just me?

Don’t get me wrong; I’m the biggest Christmas fan there is. I love December; I love Advent; I love counting down the days – I even love that my girl was born in December. I think it’s a wonderful time of year.

For some reason though, this year is kind of blah. There’s all the stuff to get done – which is great, and I love that – but I am just not feeling it this year. In part I think it’s the weather – it’s not terribly snowy and it keeps warming up to positive temperatures. On the one hand that’s nice because goodness knows when you live in Ottawa you spend ENOUGH time in the freezing. But it is not very merry to have it feel like early November. I think it’s also weird because this year the schools are going right up until the 23rd of December. Normally we have a week or so off with Anika and Brandon to do things and get excited. This year…not so much. It will be a whirlwind of activity and travel right up until Christmas Day pretty much.

Oh well! We are having a good time here despite my lack of “Merry”. We have our tree, and it is making me so happy.

We are in the process of carving out a sewing area for me in the family room downstairs which I cannot WAIT to show you – honestly, this is the best thing I can possibly imagine happening. I am so excited – I love that I’m going to have some space to do things other than “that shelf in the basement”, where I need to drag everything I need up to the dining room every time I want to work on something. And then I get all stressed out because I have stuff everywhere and I know it’s annoying the rest of my family…gah. This will be an awesome awesome improvement.

And then of course there is the princess tea party for tomorrow for a girl who is turning FIVE….but that will merit a post in and of itself methinks. Stay tuned and I’ll tell you allllllll about it. Including how I conquered cake pops. Awesome.

(For good measure, here’s a picture of a boy who discovered that if he chews on the candy cane wrapper long enough it starts to undo and tastes REALLY GOOD.)

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    December 16, 2011 10:35 pm

    Picture of Sammo with the candycane doesn’t do the episode justice. That boy was like “WHOAH! This is GOOD! Gonna go back to that tree and get me some more!!” And then we had to re-hang all the candycanes…

  2. December 17, 2011 10:16 am

    Awww…they are so cute! Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend and holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

