Skip to content

Mom Hair, 1.0!

December 30, 2011

So welcome to January! Almost!

Here’s the thing about January. There’s such a huge part of me that is always SO RELIEVED to just….be done with things already. The chaos and the crazy  of Christmas and birthday and travelling and just….NUTTINESS. So happy to get back to routines and normalcy.

Of course the flip side of that is that once you cruise past New Years there just…really isn’t a lot to look forward to. It’s a really REALLY long way until spring. There’s not much in the way of holidays….it’s dark. It’s cold. It’s long.

My point here, my friends, is that we need to do whatever the heck we can to feel good about ourselves. ANYTHING.

So this month I am kicking off my first ever blog series….and it has nothing to do with sewing. But that’s okay! Because it’s still fun.

This series is called Mom Hair, and we’re basically going to look at a whole bunch of different ways to wear your hair. I think that so many of us tend to default to “ponytail” all the time – standard mom fare – …and it’s really hard to feel positive and like you look GREAT if your hair is schlepped into a ponytail all the time.

But lets be real, right? Most mornings you have about 12 seconds to complete a hairstyle, if you are lucky, and odds are good you have a kid hanging off your leg while you are doing it. Looking good is not easy. And then when you DO manage to invest time in making yourself look decent, there is no one to appreciate it but the grocery store clerk.

Enter: Mom Hair. This series is going to show you 28 different ways to wear your hair. Some styles are going to be more adaptable for shorter hair, and some will be geared for longer hair – but hopefully you will be able to get some ideas and try some things out that are FUN – and will make you feel like the beautiful person you are.

Lets be clear – I am *not* creative, at least when it comes to hair. I didn’t come up with these styles – almost any of them. I trolled the internet, and looked for ideas, suggestions, and started trying things out.

For each style I am going to show you pictures of what the finished style looks like on me (and maybe a couple of in-process pictures when it’s relevant and/or when I manage to get a camera set up in the morning!). I’ll provide you with links to where I learned how to do the style, along with information about any adaptations or modifications I’ve made. I will also give you some info on how hard the style is to do with a kid on your leg. I know not all of you will actually HAVE a kid on your leg while you are trying this out…but it will give you a good idea about complexity level  and how long it will take anyway!

I hope this is fun for all of you, and that you get some good inspiration! Here’s to good hair January!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal Morton permalink
    December 30, 2011 8:48 am

    Well, THIS is cool! I look forward to seeing what you can do. Have fun…:))

  2. December 30, 2011 3:36 pm

    Me too! I hope you have hairdo’s for the more “mature” mom!

  3. Catherine W permalink
    December 30, 2011 4:54 pm

    Oooo excited! I have quite long hair so I ALWAYS wear it in a boring ponytail. Could do with something a little more exciting!

  4. December 31, 2011 7:50 pm

    yeah! so excited about this new little feature! i am soooo tired of my hair i had almost fell victim to the temptation to cut it off! you saved my hair!
    very excited to try out some of these new styles!

    • January 3, 2012 8:29 pm

      So glad you are interested Sarah! It was a fun game to try to figure out if I could find 29 different ways to wear my hair. I was shooting for 30, and may get there before the end of this little series, but when I was working on it in November I hit a wall at 29. But you have GORGEOUS hair. I love your hair; I always admire it and wish mine looked more like yours. Don’t cut it!!

Leave a Reply

