Skip to content

Mom Hair 1.0: What I do with my hair

January 1, 2012

So, before we dive too far into this hair series, I want to tell you a bit about my hair and what I do with it – it’s only fair right? If you are going to try to do what I am suggesting you should probably have an idea of what I am working with.

First, I have fairly long hair. I like long hair – I like the versatility – but it’s taken me a LONG time to get to a point where I feel like I can wear it well. My hair is pretty thin – I have a fair amount of it but without help it can be pretty flat.

Here’s the TRU CONFESSIONZ part of the blog, where I admit in this oh so very public forum that I….do not wash my hair every days. In fact, I do not even wash my hair every two days. I wash my hair every 3-4 days, depending on how I am wearing it and what I am planning to do with it. I know! DIRTY! Except I wish to point out that I DO shower, pretty much every day. I am clean, I swear. I just don’t wash my hair.

The reason is that it doesn’t need it. It takes a bit of time to adjust to it but honestly it is SO MUCH BETTER for your hair if you don’t wash it every day. Your hair will be stronger and shinier and prettier and you will TOTALLY LOVE IT if you get used to it. But it is a bit of a curve to get there.

No one is saying that you can’t get your hair wet and restyle it every day – you absolutely can. Just try it. Start small – try going a day between hair washes for a little while and see what happens. Just make sure you give it enough time for your hair to get used to it!

So now you know my biggest hair secret – that I don’t wash it all the time. But what else? What other tools are essential?

1. GOOD Shampoo and Conditioner.

image via pinterest

I used to think ‘Eh. How much can it matter?” and then I bought cheap shampoo and used it and figured it was fine. And then one time I was getting my hair cut. There I was, with my head in the sink, and I’m listening to a stylist doing another stylist’s hair next to me, and they were laughing about how in one of the first days of hair school they got to make candles out of drugstore shampoo just to prove how much wax filler is included in those shampoos. Right then and there I resolved to lie my face off if my hairdresser asked me what shampoo I used, and also to buy some decent shampoo. I use Redken, but it doesn’t really matter – find a good one for your hair type, buy it in a salon (NOT a grocery or drugstore or good gravy Wal-Mart) – and use it.

And yes, you can TOTALLY afford it because you are now only using it twice a week at most. SEE HOW THAT WORKS?? It will last you for MONTHS. I bought a smallish bottle of Redken shampoo at the beginning of August and it is still going strong.

2. Use a wide tooth comb to comb out your hair when it’s wet.

This is kind of an obvious one – you’ve probably had it recommended to you four hundred thousand times already. But if you do this instead of using a brush, it really does cut down on breakage HUGELY.

3. Try a detangler.

I use Redken Anti-Snap. I like it. It makes it super easy to comb out.

4. Good bobby pins.

image via pinterest.

Try to get some good bobby pins – ones that are pretty strong and at least loosely match your hair colour. A lot of the styles I’m going to show you use these. You can for sure use regular bobby pins (Goody or whatever) – but they may frustrate you if they bend or don’t hold tightly enough.

5. Little clear elastics.

image via pinterest.

I use these all the time. They are frustrating because they completely vanish when I put them in my drawer and then I can’t find them – but I do use these all the time. They are gentle on your hair, cheap, and will hold even the tiniest amount of hair.

6. A teasing comb.

I just use one of those fine toothed, pointed tail combs – it works well enough for me. But I use this for a LOT of styles – just to put a little volume into it. If you learn to do this it will TOTALLY change how you feel about your hair.

7. Hairspray.

I am sure you’ve noticed from this list that I haven’t really included a lot of product – mousses, gels, whatever. I do use a little bit of volumizing spray on the days where I wash it, but most days I only use a bit of hairspray. It works well enough for what I’m trying to do. (P.S. I totally use cheap hairspray. Someday I may overhear a stylist say something that will convince me to spend a bunch of money on hairspray but for now the drugstore is where it’s at.)

Those are the basics! That’s what I do. So stay tuned for tomorrow when we dive into actual hairstyling…eep! I know! But way fun, I promise.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 1:56 pm

    Do you ever use a dry shampoo?? I am tempted… want to see what that would do for me, if I went to washing every other day (gasp! splutter!)…

    • Hubby permalink
      January 3, 2012 7:29 pm

      I’m very interested in trying dry shampoo, especially in the winter! I think I saw some people using it in an historical re-enactment reality tv series; intrigued since then 😉

    • January 3, 2012 8:26 pm

      Re: Dry Shampoo – I will put some links up in the next post; I’ve heard good things but by the time I heard them I was past the “oh noooes grease monkey!” phase ;). Pretty!

  2. Catherine W permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:16 pm

    Right I have some serious catching up to do! My hair is down to the middle of my back and I don’t have time to wash and blow dry every day as there is A LOT of hair (that is what every person who cuts my hair says about a gajillion times and the lady who did my hair for my wedding had to bring in an assistant!) So you don’t need to convert me, I’m already there! <>

    I lurve Redken. I used to buy the gold one when I was rich. Oh and Antisnap. I also only ever use hairspray for some reason. Never mastered anything else.

    This isn’t going to boost the reputation of the British for good hygiene (ahem) but dry shampoo seems to be bizarrely popular here. I’ve never bought it but last time I was in the supermarket I was drawn to all these brightly coloured cans and wondered what they were, dry shampoo! Perhaps I should try it next time I cruise dangerously close to stinkiness!

    • January 5, 2012 9:58 pm

      I bet you have gorgeous hair darlin – and am totally jealous that you have a lot of hair! Me, not so much. What can you do right? And I’m delighted that you are already on board with the not washing it every day – I am shocked at how much healthier my hair is. It’s amazing.

      I am cracking up about the dry shampoo comment – that’s hilarious!! It seems to be picking up steam here too, if that makes you feel any better. You Brits are always FAR trendier than us anyway; I’m sure you are just ahead of the curve!

      xo

Leave a Reply

