Skip to content

Mom Hair Style #3: Three Twists

January 4, 2012

Okay, words CANNOT EXPRESS how much I love this hairstyle. Seriously, LOVE. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

It’s easy. It looks SO beautiful – I’ve worn it to parties like this, to the symphony…I’ve also worn it because it’s thursday. It’s awesome. TRY IT IMMEDIATELY.

I found this style on Pinterest, and the full tutorial for how to do it is here: http://www.themotherhuddle.com/tutorial-simple-3-twists-hairstyle/#more-6782

The beauty of this is that it can be done on shorter hair as well as longer hair. I definitely do it on a “day 2” after I’ve had some kind of curls happening the day before. I’m going to show you a few ways to curl your hair in some upcoming posts, so don’t fret if you have straight hair! The girl in the tutorial suggests sleeping in braids and going from there – I haven’t tried doing it that way, but it might work depending on your hair type? Not sure. It’s going to look best if you have a bit of texture happening though.

I also don’t bother with the hair cream and product stuff that she mentions in the tutorial – I just use a bit of hairspray to finish the style off.

Review time!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

This style is great – I have never not loved it. It’s pretty; it doesn’t look too “done”, and there’s nothing boring about it. You can wear it out and be fancy, or you can totally channel your inner movie star and wear it with leggings and a long cardigan and giant sunglasses to Starbucks. Or you know, gymboree – whatever floats your boat I say.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Pretty easy. It may take you a few more minutes the first time just to get the hang of it – but it’s really simple.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

Give it one five-minute episode the first time you try this, just to make sure you have time to get it all anchored the way you want. It won’t take you long, and the key is not to get too fussed about making it “perfect” – it’s meant to be a little relaxed and messy.

Go be beautiful.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal Morton permalink
    January 4, 2012 2:05 pm

    This WAS beautiful – and I took the pictures! (Next time, I will make sure to make sure I’ve combed out the bottom portion for you before we trip the shutter – #photomotherfail) I love the way it brings all the colours of your hair into the twists.

  2. Angela permalink
    January 4, 2012 9:03 pm

    This is very pretty and perfect for your length of hair. Seems easy enough – I got bobby pins tonight:o) I may try this and you can critique it. I like that is can be used day2 and it works for my wavy hair! It may be a disaster just trying to hide the bobby pins:o/

    • January 5, 2012 9:51 pm

      You can TOTALLY do this Ang – it’s super easy. I’ll do it for you next time if you have issues!! And your hair is PERFECT for this style! Awesome – totally try.

Trackbacks

  1. Mom Hair Style 10: Twisted Sister « Pintuck
  2. Mom Hair Style 22: Short Hair! « Pintuck

Leave a Reply

