Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 5: Sock Curls!

January 6, 2012

Okay, this is the first of two ways I’m going to show you how to curl your hair with no heat. And I am saying that as a former hot roller addict. I love full crazy curls, and I seriously cannot BELIEVE it’s possible to get them like this. It’s awesome.

Here’s a link where the process is described – there are a lot of them floating around out there; this is just an example.

The basic idea is that the night before, you spritz your hair with water just a little bit (get it just slightly damp; don’t worry about saturating it or anything). Then you grab all of the hair on the top part of your head, pull it straight up and wrap it around a (clean! very very clean!) sock. Roll your hair up in the sock and then tie the sock in a knot.

Divide the lower section of your hair into two, and repeat the process, so that each knotted sock sits kind of down below your ears.

Go to sleep! (They really won’t bother you much to sleep on – I don’t really notice them at all).

Wake up. Make coffee. Drink coffee. Get dressed. Fix makeup if you are so inclined. At this point you should look something like this:

Sidenote: Who knew this series was really about how many completely embarrassing pictures of myself I could put on the internet?? Mercy.

Take out the socks. (I know! It doesn’t look like much yet! But stay with me!). Use your fingers to separate the curls and fluff things up…

Keep going….

See how it starts to work?

Now, for me this is day 3 hair – as in, it’s been that long since I washed my hair. I can still work with my bangs if I get them wet and blow them dry again, but usually by this point I’m pretty much over it and just want them off my face. So I channel 1989 and pin them back with the appropriate bump. Awesome.

The interesting thing to me about doing my hair this way is that the curls actually last WAY longer than they did when I used heat. I have no idea why but I’ll take it!

These curls are kind of loose and unstructured – a little bit messy, but TONS of volume, and REALLY fun. Try it!

Review time….

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

Really fun, especially if your hair is usually straight like mine. It’s big volume and really fun.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Can you tie a knot in your sock? If so you are good to go.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

None! Pretty much all the work for this one is done the night before. Enjoy!

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cal Morton permalink
    January 6, 2012 2:36 pm

    I have seen this in action with both you, and Ani – seems to work perfectly! My short-longer hair is almost long enough to try it too. It sure has to be more comfortable than rollers. ps: love your sweater!

  2. January 6, 2012 11:24 pm

    I love this one! And looooove these pics!

  3. Jeannette permalink
    January 7, 2012 11:03 am

    Woowwww! I love this one!! Seems very easy too! 😀
    PS. Your hair tutorials = awesome!!! 😀
    Jeannette ;o)

Leave a Reply

