Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 6: Waterfall Twists

January 7, 2012

This is a little bit like a waterfall braid – they are all over the internet these days, and I will demonstrate them for you on a later day – but it’s way simpler, because instead of trying to keep a braid going, all you are doing is twisting the hair and dropping an additional piece through every time.

Click the image for the tutorial:

My hair is nowhere near as glorious as the girl in the picture…but I still like wearing it this way!

When I get one side twisted to the center back, I usually just use a small clip or bobby pin to secure it while I do the other side. Then use an elastic to secure the two twists together in the back – use a hand mirror to make sure you’ve got the twists centered the way you want them to be.

This time I didn’t want complete straight-straight hair – so I just divided my hair into about three sections and wrapped it around a big curling iron for a few seconds. It doesn’t really curl your hair, just kind of gives the ends a bit more movement.

Reviews!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

I actually think this is a really pretty way to do hair – very soft and romantic looking. Up without being too “up”, you know? Good date night hair I say.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

It’s a little fiddly to get the hang of. I had to play with it for a bit before I really felt like I had it “figured out” – but once you get it it’s not too much harder than a normal braid.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

I’d say 2-3 5 minute episodes for this one – probably won’t take you more than 2 once you get the hang of it, but when you first try it you might want a few more minutes to yourself to get comfortable with it.

It’s the weekend – go play!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 2:22 pm

    I love this one!

Leave a Reply

