Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 7: Twist to Braid

January 8, 2012

So this is kind of a funny one, but I actually really like it. It’s casual, but it gets your hair out of your face and it looks kinda funky and fun. No bad thing I think!

I found the tutorial to do this style here (click the picture to go off to this girl’s blog):

This is super cute and not hard – basically all you do is a twist, starting at your bangs, where you are adding a bit of hair to the bottom chunk with every twist. Once you get around to the back of your head, pick up another chunk and braid it to the bottom. Easy! And fun!

Now, the system broke down on the photography front at the Pintucks hacienda yesterday – my chief hair photographer went back to work and I was on my own with two kids and the self timer on the camera. Whoops. But here are a few of my pathetic photography attempts anyway!

From the front:

From the side – it looks weird and lumpy but it isn’t in real life!

Aaaaand, here it is from the back! I don’t think that I did a brilliant job of getting the back perfectly neat – but the truth is that Sam took off with my hand mirror and I was in a hurry to get things done and THAT’S JUST HOW THINGS GO SOMETIMES, DON’T JUDGE ME! I think what I really mean is go look at Chelsea’s blog to see how to do this properly :). It’s cute! Trust.

Review!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

Definitely more fun than classic “pretty” – but it’s totally fun and worth trying out to see if you like!!

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Pretty easy – you need to be comfortable with twisting and braiding, but none of the twists or braids are terribly complicated – and the only way to get better at them is to keep practicing and doing it! This is a great style to practice on.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

You’ll be able to knock this out in one five-minute episode, easy. You need a couple of minutes to yourself, because once you start this one you can’t put your hair down – you have to finish it – but it won’t take you long to do!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

