Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 8: 3 Little Buns

January 9, 2012

This hairstyle is fun, and it’s all over the place these days. It totally follows the whole messy bun thing – but with a twist. Instead of one big messy bun at the back or on top of your head, you do three small ones along the back of your head. Any of the links there will show you ways to do this hairstyle – if the way I did it isn’t working for you then by all means, go check them out! There are some very pretty ways of doing things.

You can do what you like with your bangs – leave them out if you like. I was on Day 3 hair, which means I’m pretty much over anything to do with the hair at the front of my head and really just want it out of my way thankyouverymuch.

So I did a small twist along the hairline, pulling in all of my bangs and then once I was across the front of my head, just loosely twisted my hair to the ends and secured it with an elastic. Fancy, I know. Then I pulled that twist into one of my buns.


The pictures in this post are taken at the end of the day – definitely not my preferred time to take hair pictures, but sometimes things get crazy and what can you do? Hopefully this will still give you the idea.

Many of the other tutorials you see for small buns will just have you pull the hair back, twist it, and pin it into a bun. This method works really well if you have a decent amount of hair (check out some of the links above if you’d like to look at that more).

As I’ve mentioned before, I do not have a decent amount of hair – I have really thin hair. So I do things a little differently. Basically I separate my hair into three sections, and then put each section into a low ponytail across the back of my head (spaced roughly where I want the buns to sit).

Then I get out my trusty teasing comb and tease the living daylights out of each ponytail, hitting each with a blast of hairspray when I’m done.

I take each of the teased sections, twist them maybe once VERY loosely (only to keep the ends together), and then coil each into a loose bun and pin.

They end up looking really messy, which I’m after, and there is a lot more volume than if I just twisted them without teasing first.

This is a really fun style – it’s easy to fancy it up by sticking a flower clip or something into the side, and I’ve worn this style for more formal occasions and for casual ones. It’s really fun; I hope you like it!

Here’s the review!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

This can actually be really beautiful. It can also drift more into “funky” territory, depending on how you do it and whether you decide to dress it up or not. Play with it a little and see what you think!

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Pretty easy – I’ve fought with it a few times when I’ve been trying to get the buns to sit a certain way and they JUST DON’T WANT TO – but it really is fairly simple. Since it’s meant to be messy and a little disorganized you don’t actually have to fuss with it too much.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

You probably need 2 5-minute episodes to get this totally done, pinned and sprayed. It’s not hugely time-consuming but you need a couple of minutes to get it done.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 11:10 am

    I tried this one this morning on day 1 ( I wash hair every 2-3 days) wet hair (curls tomorrow, I’ll bet). My hair is thicker and longer so all I needed was three elastics to twist up the messy buns — done and done! Used to do my hair similar to this back in university… Super easy and love it!

Leave a Reply

