Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 10: Twisted Sister

January 11, 2012

This is another style brought to you by the lovely ladies at The Beauty Department. I so enjoy that site by the way – it’s got a great, clean layout and some awesome tips about hair, makeup, and style in general. I like that most of their posts are things that can be implemented individually – so that you are still “you” at the end of it; you just get to try something new. (As opposed to those sites where you go look at it and thing “Huh. Well. Since I don’t actually look very much like Nicole Richie, and since I don’t have 4o thousand dollars to spend on hair or makeup, there is absolutely nothing here that I can use. But THANKS ANYWAY INTERNET.”).

The style I tried today is this one http://thebeautydepartment.com/2011/06/pin-it-up-girl/.

I think this style is really really pretty, but I don’t actually think I have enough hair to make it work really well (or as well as I’d like, anyway). I will probably try it a few more times but…I think it would work better on people with thicker hair.

But! Remember that scrunched up hair from yesterday’s post? That will give you a great amount of wave and texture to try this look out. (It would also set you up nicely to do this style as well).

Here’s the look on me from the front:

It’s fine. It’s back, but it’s not slicked back…it’s got some volume, which is nice.

Here’s the side:

Aaaand, the back.

It’s really a lovely style…but I feel like on me it just ends up looking kind of messy. I don’t know if it’s because I don’t have enough hair to do enough individual twists, or what it is….I’ll probably keep trying though; I love the style. Even if it isn’t perfect for me, maybe it will be totally awesome for YOU. So you should totally try it!

Review:

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

I think this is really pretty and has the potential to be quite beautiful if done up properly.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

It’s not too hard, but it will take a little fiddling to get it to look the way you want to. None of the individual steps are particularly hard though!

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

Probably 2-3 5 minute episodes. Make sure you have enough time to figure this out for your hair, and make it how you want it to be for you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 1:41 pm

    They all look beautiful on you. I can’t decide.

  2. Angela permalink
    January 11, 2012 11:16 pm

    This is a really pretty do.

  3. January 12, 2012 10:38 am

    It’s pretty! Also pretty out-of-focus. 😉

Leave a Reply

