Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 12: Braided Hair Band

January 13, 2012

Updated – fixed the links; sorry for the confusion!!

This actually IS one I just tried to figure out by myself and do. I will tell you up front and for free that it is NOT a super easy way to do your hair. This is similar to the hairline french braid (which is EVERYWHERE – see here, here, and here for more examples) – except that instead of just being along the hairline, this french braid wraps clean around your head like a hairband.

Before we get started, I think it’s been a few posts since we had a photo apology, so let me apologize RIGHT UP FRONT for these pictures. They were taken in the bathroom mirror and they are completely lousy. I got tired of trying to fiddle with the tripod and Sam and get things focused right, so I figured OH HEY – this will be way easier, and I bet the pictures will look fine.

They do not. But they should give you the idea, anyway. Forgive!

So, french braided hairband:

The easiest way I’ve found to do this is to section off the hair that you want to include in the braided portion, and then pull all the rest of your hair into a knot on top of your head so that it’s out of the way, and you can braid the pieces you’ve left hanging down.

You have some options with this – you can choose to put your bangs into the braid or leave them out, as I’ve done in these pictures. You can have the braid sit right ON your hairline, or you can set it back a little bit. It’s completely up to you!

Here’s how you do it.

1. Separate the hair you don’t want in the braid from the hair you DO want in the braid.

I do this by taking a pointed comb and basically drawing a big circle around my head (roughly where I’d want a hairband to sit). The rest of the hair I secure on top of my head in an elastic. Generally I make the section of hair to braid a little wider at the top and sides of my head, and a little narrower (so less hair) at the back of my head – since that part will sit under my other hair anyway.

2. Start at one side of your forehead. Pick up a small section of hair and start french braiding.

At this point all you are going to do is keep french braiding all the way around your head. This is NOT EASY, and the reason it’s not easy is that you need to change hand positions a good few times. You will need to keep REALLY careful track of which piece of your braid is the top piece and which is the bottom – it can get a little tricky. Stick with it though, and don’t worry about it if you think there are sections that look too messy or loopy – you’ll be amazed what you can fix with a bobby pin after it’s all done.

3. When you run out of hair (usually when you get back up to your forehead area, just braid the section of hair to the end and secure with a clear elastic.

4. Lay the braid along your hairline (or wherever you want to position it), and tuck the end under the first part of the french braid (where you started, or further down if your hair is longer), and pin it into place.

You shouldn’t need too many bobby pins here – just one or two to secure the end piece.

5. Pin down any loops or bumps you aren’t happy with, then let down the rest of your hair.

You’re done!

I am a self-photography GENIUS! Admire the skills!

This hairstyle is fun, and you might be awesome at doing it and totally love it. I came across a couple of other ways of doing braided hairband type things, which I will share with you in future posts, that are a little easier – but give this one a try. If nothing else it will get you some GREAT practice braiding!

Review!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

This is fun, for sure. Braids are awesome.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Eh. This is tricky, mainly because your hands need to switch directions a few times – it takes some doing to get used to it.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

You’re going to need at least 3-4 here, so you aren’t rushed and can get your braid to sit the way you want it to. This isn’t a super quick do – but it’s fun for those days where you have some extra minutes!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    January 13, 2012 1:31 pm

    Good tribute to Yulia Timoshenko!

  2. Cal Morton permalink
    January 13, 2012 5:37 pm

    Pretty! I think you need loooonger hair for this one. Are the “here” words supposed to be links? I like this one better than the just previous braided one, which was just a little too ‘Amish-looking’, for me! Do we get to vote on our faves, later? These are very fun to look at! I want to see you do one on Ani…:))

  3. Catherine W permalink
    January 14, 2012 5:51 pm

    Hmmm I have lots of hair but probably not enough time or skillz! I do actually like the previous braided style, must be my inner Amish person!

  4. Catherine W permalink
    January 14, 2012 5:52 pm

    And yes . . Yulia Timoshenko! I KNEW I had seen this hairstyle SOMEWHERE before!

Leave a Reply

