Skip to content

Mom Hair Style #14: Bottom Braid

January 15, 2012

Welcome to another example of a style that is all over everywhere. This is a simple style, where you basically french braid along the bottom of your hair, and then braid or ponytail off the ends on the side.

Here’s an example – http://thebeautydepartment.com/2011/08/plain-simple/

In this example, the stylist has tucked the long part of the braid back under the french braid – http://pinterest.com/pin/134896951308184295/. So pretty!

I wanted this to be a very casual, laid back style – we were on Day 2 of crazy ice/snowstorm and I was rather over trying to do anything other than jam on hats and shovel. So I didn’t princess this one up too much – but you definitely could!

I started by teasing my hair around the back and sides (much like I do when I wear it straight). Then I smoothed it all towards the back of my head.

I gathered the hair on the left side of my head, and starting low around and towards the back, I started french braiding horizontally towards the right side.

This is a big braid, so don’t be afraid to grab larger sections of hair – you don’t have to do tiny ones here!

Pause periodically as you go to tug the braid back towards the left side – basically you want the hair to hang straight on the back of your head (and the braid to stay straight) rather than pulling to the right.

Finish off the braid and secure it with an elastic.

To finish it so it would lie nicely, I made a small hole in the braid close to the lower right side of my head and flipped the braid down through it. This lets it lie flatter, and keeps it from sticking out at a weird angle. You can also pull on the loops of the braid a little bit to make it a little less neat and a little bigger.

Review!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

This is fun, and can be really pretty. It’s the kind of look that is suited really well to finishing with a flower clip or something like that. Really fun.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Fairly easy. You need to be able to braid, but if you can do that, you can do this!

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

Maybe one 5-minute episode – but it’s really very easy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

