Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 16: Sock Bun

January 17, 2012

AKA The post in which your humble narrator very nearly forgets to post.

I KNOW. What would you have done with your hair tomorrow?? The world would have collapsed.

I’m sorry you guys – crazy weather system going through today (again) – snow, ice, more snow, more ice, flash freeze, rain, ice. Ew. It had me all very distracted. So sorry!

And after all that I’m kind of cheating and giving you a style that I don’t actually have pictures of me wearing. It’s cheating, I know. I just didn’t manage to get the camera pointed at my head today – I’ll try to come back and add some later.

But! This style is SO SUPER EASY!

I’m sure you’ve all seen the high/ballerina buns that people are wearing all over the place, yes? If you don’t really know what I’m talking about, here‘s a great tutorial on how to do one.

They are really cute and they get all of your hair out of your face (bonus!) and they can pretty much be worn no matter HOW long it’s been since you washed your hair. (Not that I would know of course. Ahem.)

But here’s the problem with a ballerina bun. If you don’t have a whole ton of hair, it’s really hard to get enough volume to make it look good. My hair is pretty long, so if I tease the heck out of my pony tail, it can sometimes work. But it’s a bit labour intensive to get it to look exactly the way I want it to.

Enter, the sock bun.

The basic premise of this style is that you take an old (clean! clean clean clean!) sock, cut the toe off of it, and roll the whole thing into a donut. Make a ponytail up high on your head (or wherever you want the bun to be), and put your ponytail through the sock donut. Then you just fan your hair around the donut, put an elastic over it, and pin the ends around the base of the bun.

Here’s a quick tutorial.

It’s really easy and pretty much idiot-proof (my kind of hair style let me tell you).

Now, there is another way to do it if you have very long hair, and the bonus here is that it will give you some really pretty curls for later. Click the picture below to go to the tutorial! (Chelsea has some great hair ideas on her site – look around and see what you think!).

Review:

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

Fun! It can be pretty – I’ve actually worn one with a flower clip and a little black dress to the symphony. It’s a good way to go once in a while!

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Easy! Super easy. Find a sock you can cut up and you are good to go.

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

None! So fast! Love!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 10:45 pm

    LOVE the sock bun! Makes me want long hair so I can try it… although every time I hear it, I think of that video tutorial by that cute European girl who refers to it as a “soak boon.” Love.

  2. Angela permalink
    January 21, 2012 7:59 pm

    I am having touble keeping up with all these new, cool ideas! So much to try! Very neat – great idea – I also wish my hair was longer so I can try this one. Goodness knows I need volume in my bun! Off to look up the “soak boon”:o)

Leave a Reply

