Skip to content

About a Girl.

January 21, 2012

You guys, I know I owe you a hair post. I also know that in WRITING all these hair posts there is so much I want to tell you about and keep not making time to write about. I’m going to try to rectify that this week – stay tuned! I owe you a very late 18 month old post on Sammo; I’ve been working on the basement and want to show you pictures of my very own sewing space; I won a giveaway that I totally want to tell you about….SO MUCH STUFF.

But instead of going there today, I want to tell you about Anika. (Again, I know. But there are things!).

Ani is such a beautiful crazy mash of things right now – big girl colliding with little girl; independent colliding with “I need you mom!”; happy-go-lucky-girl colliding with frustrated-because-she-can’t-*quite*-do-it-yet girl.

But I see her rise above herself over and over again. I worry so much about her….and then she just DOES it.

Two weeks ago she started swimming lessons. She is in the “whale” class, something she is insanely proud of and excited about. She’s loved swimming since the summer, when it really started to click for her – and she was thrilled to be starting a new class…..right up until she figured out her new teacher is a boy.

And you guys, she lost her EVER LOVING MIND. She seriously pitched the biggest fit ANY of my children have ever thrown in a public space. I was…mortified; horrified; completely unglued and unsure of what to do. (What I DID do was peel her off of my head, which she was wrapped around, and placed her firmly in the water, next to her teacher. I had to – if I’d taken her out I would definitely have lost my cool). She did nothing for the entire lesson. Stood frozen against the wall; wouldn’t do anything the teacher asked; wouldn’t look at him….nothing.

It blew me away – to say I was unprepared for that reaction is a crazy understatement. That’s not her. She doesn’t behave like that.

Needless to say we had some long discussions about the whole thing – all week we went over it; discussed how she’d hurt her teacher’s feelings; how she needed to be able to deal with male teachers from time to time; how she needed to basically suck it up and perform to the best of her ability. I wasn’t expecting miracles; I wasn’t asking her to give more than she had to give – but I was asking her to try her best, and to be kind. We prayed about it and talked about it a lot.

She kept assuring me that she was ready to go back; that she was ready to do a good job. That she was afraid to tell her teacher she was sorry but that she’d like me to tell him she was sorry. I…I didn’t fully believe her. I believed that she was sincere in WANTING to do a better job….but I seriously thought she might freeze again when faced with the teacher.

We went early to the class the second week. We watched the teacher, teaching the kids before her. We talked about how it looked like they were having fun.

Then it was her turn. She walked straight up to her teacher, looked him in the eye, and smiled at him. She came back for an extra hug, and then followed him into the pool and did everything he asked. She completely owned it.

She rose above her fear, and in doing so she proved to herself that she didn’t need to be afraid.

Parenting is awesome.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Suanne St. Charles permalink
    January 22, 2012 9:47 am

    Great post, Christy. I don’t think I faced a male “teacher” until Grade 8! I can imagine how disconcerting it might be to her. And love “Anikdotes”. Love, XOXOX Susie

  2. January 22, 2012 12:38 pm

    Well that is an awesome description. Well done you.

  3. January 22, 2012 3:01 pm

    She’s such a determined kid. She knows what she’s capable of. I’m so proud!!

  4. Angela permalink
    January 22, 2012 6:25 pm

    Parenting is awesome!:OD Every triumph, our triumph, every sorrow, our sorrow. Crazy to see the changes they go though. Good for Ani! I see what you did there … with the hair …;o) Very lovely:o)

  5. Kim permalink
    January 23, 2012 4:08 pm

    I.just.love.her. She never seizes to amaze me – such a proud TeePee =)

  6. Kim permalink
    January 26, 2012 10:51 pm

    Also- I mentioned this story to one of my classmates who is also a swim instructor – and she said this is REALLY common! =)

Leave a Reply

