Skip to content

Mom Hair Style 19: Tucked Updo

January 23, 2012

So it’s like this. I *did* do my hair in this style today, and I had every intention of taking pictures of it for you and posting them here. But then a bunch of life happened (mostly in the form of a whiny 1-year old with a cold), and then I had to take Ani to dance, AND THEN I got wildly caught in pouring freezing rain, and now there is no way I can post a picture of my hair. The internet does not deserve that kind of ugly.

But the style is nice, I swear!

Because I like to shamelessly steal images from Pinterest I’ll let you click on the photo below to go to the tutorial site. (In case anyone’s wondering I am IN NO WAY attempting to take credit for the lovely photography. This is ALL the Beauty Department’s work, and it’s so many thousands of times better than I could ever do with my camera and the bathroom mirror).

Image from The Beauty Department – click on over and check them out; they are lovely!

The updo is pretty simple really. It’s best to start with straight hair (because it will sit more smoothly). I think the style may work best on medium length hair – I do this one periodically, and I really do like it, but I have a hard time getting all of my pony tail to hide under the loop. I find that after awhile I get ends sticking out of the sides of it – it just ends up looking a bit messy.

BUT – it is really cute, and it’s billed as wedding hair on the site…I bet this could be GORGEOUS for a wedding.

Review:

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

Really really pretty.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

It’s a little trickier than some of the others we’ve tried. It needs to be pretty smooth, and centered properly to work – you need to be careful to check your mirror as you go. It can also take a little work to get the bobby pins to anchor your hair properly (without making it look like you have a ton of hardware in your hair!!).

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

Give yourself 2 or 3 five-minute episodes, just to make sure you can get this one the way you want it. It’s definitely worth trying though! Have fun!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 6:34 am

    Oooo I love this one! Just hope I have the strength in my arms to construct it!

Leave a Reply

