Skip to content

A Dress for Ava

January 25, 2012

Our lovely little friend Ava turned 3 on Saturday…which gave me the perfect opportunity to test out my newly acquired Sienna Dress pattern from Lil Blue Boo.

Do you guys read her blog? Because seriously, you should. What a creative girl she is – and what grace she is tackling her life challenges with. My goodness. I want to be her when I grow up. Except I think she’s younger than me. Crap.

Where was I? OH YES. The Sienna Dress pattern is awesome and I totally recommend checking it out…even if you don’t normally sew with knits. They are SO fun, very easy, and I have another 3 on my mental whiteboard that I am planning to make for a few lovely shorties in my life. I like that there is a rock solid pattern, but also a lot of freedom to take the dress in whatever direction you want to….really make it yours.

Ava is a big fan of Disney (what little girl isn’t I guess, but Ava has actually logged more hours at Disney with her family than most of us! Lucky girl!).

In reading through Ashley’s website I came across this dress, which gave me the idea to incorporate the “Bippity Boppity Boo” line – which I totally love. A nod to the princess thing without being totally princessy. (It is TOO a word).

I adjusted the pattern pieces of the dress the way I wanted them, and cut out the pieces. (Pro tip – instead of buying knit yardage, head to Walmart and check out the organic cotton men’s t-shirts. If you hit a sale you can score a 3x shirt for $4-5. And there is a good amount of material in a 3x shirt!). Before I started sewing I decided to paint the words onto the ruffle fabric and let it dry – MUCH easier than trying to do the freezer paper stencil later!

I just used my Silhouette to cut the words, and added a few stars here and there. I ironed the freezer paper onto the fabric, and used a couple of paints to paint the words in white. I started with a pure white with my beloved Setacolor paints (they are great – they dry well, set well, mix well and do not fade at all). Once that had dried a little I used a Tulip brand clear sparkly paint (“icicle”) to go over the letters and give them a little bit of sparkle.

I followed the pattern for the dress, except that I modified the sleeves to be short sleeves and I added some ribbing around the sleeve to cuff them in a little bit. I think that next time I might actually bring the sleeves in a little more – but basically this time I cut some ribbing that is the same width as the neck-band, and about an inch shorter than the length of the sleeve piece (the part that will wrap around the arm). Then I just folded the ribbing in half, pressed it, and stretched it to fit as I sewed it onto the sleeve piece.

The finishing touch was to put a princess wand on the front of the dress – again I used my Silhouette and some freezer paper and went to town. I used a few iron on rhinestones to princess it up a little bit more…I think it came out really nicely!

I cannot say enough about this dress pattern. It is so much fun and SO easy. There is so much you can do with it to make it your own….seriously, if you’re in the market for a pattern like this, check it out. I plan to use it as the basis for a lot of Ani’s clothes this summer.

OH – I also bought the leggings pattern from her site, and used it to make the cropped leggings you see in the top picture. Equally awesome, and also very adaptable.

Check the patterns out – they are so great!

(I’ll try to convince lovely Ava’s mom to send me a picture of her wearing the dress so you can see it in action!).

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Luz Elena permalink
    February 8, 2012 3:25 pm

    Hola… el vestido esta precioso, lastima que no colocao los moldes. Dios los bendiga siempre

Leave a Reply

