Skip to content

Mom Hair #24: Headband Curls!

February 21, 2012

For all of you with straight hair who have spent your lives DREAMING of life with gorgeous curls, this tutorial is TOTALLY for you. Seriously, it is awesome. All kinds of awesome.

Now, I tell you this as a dedicated hot roller/curling iron user for many many years – this will change your life. I used to use rollers or a curling iron to get body into my hair, and it worked pretty well but by the end of the day it would kind of fall out.

Curling your hair this way ROCKS. It’s no work because you do it before you go to bed the night before. And the curls it makes are awesome and they STAY. Seriously, it’s a really fun way to do your hair.

So the tutorial to do this is found here – No Heat Vintage Curls. Watch the whole thing – it will explain exactly what to do & how to wrap your hair around the head band. Make sure you use a pretty soft and stretchy headband to do this – mine has the rubber grippy things on one side, but I turn it inside out so I don’t have rubber grippy marks on my forehead all morning.

I wanted to show you what it looks like when you take it out in the morning because that is the REALLY fun part. Please be sure to a) admire my awesome mirror photography, and b) admire my awesome strawberry pajama pants.

So, after you’ve set your hair according to the tutorial, slept on it, got up, made coffee, given the kids breakfast, it is time to take out your hair. You will look like this:

Grab the hairband at the top of your head and start pulling it back and shaking your hair loose.

Keep shaking and pulling and unwrapping sections of your hair….

….and voila! You have curls.

(Side note: Do you know how long I stared at this picture trying to figure out why my wedding rings were on the wrong hand?? Yep. Mirror. I’m smart.)

But the curls will be a bit messy and fuzzy looking (because after all, you just slept on them). SO. To fix that problem, you do what the girl in the video showed you – you take sections and very gently brush them around your hand. Don’t go nuts with this – you don’t want to make it all frizzy-insane – but you do want to smooth them out a bit.

When you are done it will look awesome. Here’s the best picture of “done” I could get in the mirror:

So that’s it! Try it and have fun with it. It’s totally “free” hair too – because if you try it and hate it you can pretty much just get in the shower and do your normal hair anyway!

(Also – I know I processed the living daylights out of these pictures. This is in part because I am terrible at photography, but also because I am putting pictures of myself in my pjs on the internet. It required some processing friends. Safety first.)

Style Review!

PRETTY/FUN FACTOR:

WAY fun. Especially if your hair is usually totally straight and you don’t get to do curls very often. It works beautifully and it’s great fun.

HOW HARD IS IT TO DO?:

Pretty easy. It may take you a minute to get on to the motion of wrapping your hair around the hairband – but you’ll figure it out fast!

HOW MANY EPISODES OF PINGU DO I NEED TO DISTRACT MY KID WITH TO DO IT?

Most of the work for this one happens at night when your kids are sleeping. BONUS. You might need one episode in the morning to shake your hair out and clean up your curls a bit – but not much!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 21, 2012 10:45 pm

    That is a riot. And you have some pretty seriously curly hair going on there! Good work hon. Pants look great….did you make those?

  2. Jennifer permalink
    February 22, 2012 12:57 pm

    I tried the sock curls over the weekend and ended up with such fluffy curls at the bottom and no volume on the top that I had to put it up in a pony tail. Now I have to buy a hair band so that I can try this one. 🙂

  3. Jeannette permalink
    February 23, 2012 8:39 pm

    Woah, these curls look even better than the sock curls! I think I will have to buy a hair band and try this one too! 🙂

    Btw, it looks like you’ve been doing some serious gym work with your arms in the photo where it says “Look! Curls!” Awesome! 😀

  4. February 24, 2012 10:03 pm

    I think “Good morning! Nice pants!” should be a Thing. Oh and this hairstyle is my favourite!!! Besides the sock bun. 🙂 I am growing my hair out just so I can try these!

  5. Angela permalink
    February 26, 2012 10:25 pm

    I, for one, love the processing, for two, the Jammie’s, and for three the curls! Totally going to have to try this one:0) BTW, been doing the random bobby pinning updo and been loving it:0D Thanks!

Leave a Reply

