Skip to content

Sienna Dress #3 – a Dress for Our God-daughter!

March 8, 2012

Our beautiful god-daughter Heather turned 6 in January, and true to excellent form her loving godparents prefer to send her a gift randomly around Easter rather than at the ACTUAL time of her birthday. It’s a bigger surprise that way, right?? RIGHT? Sigh. I know I’m horrible. I hope this dress helps to make up for it though!

(Also: I make Barbie clothes now, apparently. And also? Anika did her own hair. With her my little pony’s barrettes. In case it isn’t obvious).

This is a short sleeve version of the Sienna dress, with the hood (from the hoodie pattern) added to it. I kind of love it, and I really do need to make one for Anika. Eventually. Just as soon as I stop making other stuff!!

I had this owl print jersey that I picked up awhile ago and I totally love it – I actually wanted to make a shirt for me out of it. But it was just too perfect to make one for Heather, so I went with it.

I also had Anika model the dress for me – since I keep posting pictures of dresses I’ve made for other people’s kids I figured I needed to have at least one picture of a kid actually IN one of the dresses! Heather is a little bigger than Ani – she’s taller certainly – so it’s maybe a little long for Anika. But I do like the fit. I adjusted it a little bit from Maliah’s dress – I probably brought the seam in about an inch on each side under the arms and gradually tapered it back to the original width by the bottom of the owl band of fabric. It shaped the body a little better I think? It totally depends on the type of jersey you are using though! A thinner jersey would drape beautifully at the wider width!

For the ruffle at the bottom of the dress I stenciled A.A. Milne’s poem “Now We Are Six”, which I love. I’ll talk more about how I did that when I put up the post about different things you can do with knits! (Spoiler alert – I would TOTALLY DO IT DIFFERENTLY next time, even though I am happy with the results).

Then I stenciled an owl onto the top of the dress to bring it all together.

I’m actually really delighted with how this one came out. I think it will be adorable on her, and I really hope she likes it!

Now, I know that I promised the post about ways to customize knits, but this week went a bit off the rails for me. Sam got sick (we now know he has strep, and he’s on antibiotics which I HOPE are making him better – at least we can no longer fry eggs on his head, so that’s promising) and was predictably sad frog about the whole thing – draped on me all day long for at least two days. Sad! But he’s better now, thank goodness. He even agreed to eat today, which is…the first time since about Monday at lunch time that he’s eaten much of anything.

So I will put up that post early next week – so sorry about the delay!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 11, 2012 10:55 pm

    Ack! Owls! LOVE IT! Make me one? Yes? Please?!

  2. March 18, 2012 7:55 pm

    I am loving Ani’s dance poses in these shots. These look new!? 😉 Oh, and b) you know how I feel about owls.

Leave a Reply

