Skip to content

Shirts for the Little Guy

March 21, 2012

You know, I always feel guilty that I don’t sew as much for Sam as I do for Ani. And when I DO sew for him, I don’t get as excited about it as I do when I sew for her. Sewing for girls is so much fun – there’s colour and dresses and skirts and movement. I keep thinking that if I’m going to be creative and sew anyway, I should by rights be able to come up with some great stuff for Sammo. Unfortunately, so far it hasn’t really worked that way. I’m hopeful that as he learns to express himself more we may get to a point where he can give ME ideas. That would be fun!

In the meantime, I made him a couple of Dana’s 90-minute shirts. These took me way more than 90 minutes, simply because I cut them out back in, oh, November, and then completely forgot about them until last week. I figured I better sew them together before he outgrew them. So I did!

His “boy” shirt was inspired by a wall decal I saw on Pinterest that I liked. I just used an iron on transfer to make this one. Remember that if you are doing this to mirror the lettering first! Otherwise it will be backwards when you put it on the shirt. Not okay.

Here’s the second one:

Note that this one is post-playdate, and he is more than a little rumpled at this point. But he likes it!

Sam is pretty obsessed with animals, and penguins are generally a pretty big favourite. So I used a penguin I found online, and a quote that I thought was pretty funny about penguins – “It is practically impossible to look at a penguin and feel angry.” I should have made the font a bit bigger on the shirt – but oh well, it’s cute on him anyway!

Since the iron on transfer stuff can look a little bit plastic-y, I decided to make it look intentional – I ironed my images onto some white knit scraps, cut around them, and hand sewed them on using bright orange thread. I kind of like it!

I’m also pretty fond of the short person wearing them.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 5:51 pm

    Okay, now I have to have the first, and last pictures too, in original format….our darling Sam. And I love the shirts, esp the red one. You know my love of light colours on babies (oh, and toddlers…which I guess he is). Lovely work as always.

  2. Sarah permalink
    March 21, 2012 10:20 pm

    Loving his wild hair! Want to get together for a playdate soon??

  3. Jennifer permalink
    March 22, 2012 8:50 am

    He’s definitely turning the corner from baby to boy! So fun to see all the pics! 🙂

  4. March 22, 2012 8:53 am

    “A noise with dirt on it”! LOL I love it… we should cut him some slack. Girls are also pretty noisy and dirty. 🙂 Now, there’s a comment here that says it’s from Christy, but SOUNDS like it’s from Mom… ?que?

  5. Hubby permalink
    March 22, 2012 5:46 pm

    I’m pretty sure the 3rd picture (disheveled hair, penguin shirt) is me at <2 years.

    Just saying…

  6. Lisa permalink
    March 22, 2012 10:39 pm

    So cute. 🙂 His smile makes me smile. Would love to learn how to sew!

    Also, you should get a “spring 2012” photo 🙂

  7. March 23, 2012 10:01 am

    Your son’s new shirts are adorable as is he!

  8. simplesimonandco permalink
    March 23, 2012 8:42 pm

    I love unique and different boy’s clothes…these are perfect!

  9. simplesimonandco permalink
    March 23, 2012 8:42 pm

    I love boy’s clothes that are unique and different…and these are perfect!

Leave a Reply

