Skip to content

Slump: Sewing and Life

April 2, 2012

Sorry for vanishing again – I think I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately. Just tired and a bit burned out and trying to juggle a lot of things at once and….not feeling like I’m doing a particularly good job at any of it. Boo.

I didn’t actually touch my sewing machine last week…and I really really should know better. I just wasn’t feeling terribly inspired about anything and most of my sewing felt like “had to do” versus “want to do”. I really need to remember though that just sitting down and playing with fabric for a bit – even if it’s just hemming pants – really does totally fix my frame of mind….and I’m a much better wife/mother when I do that!

Oh well….new month, new start right? Onward and upward!

Instead of showing you all the cool stuff I did last week (hint: nothing. Unless you count cleaning out all of the kids clothes and bagging a lot of stuff for goodwill) I’m going to show you another project I did over March Break, when Anika was off.

Anika: Not so much with the natural poses anymore.

This is Dana’s latest skirt tutorial, and I really really love how it turned out. I’d picked up the cotton at Joann’s the last time I was in Boston and had been hanging onto it in hopes of finding the right Anika project for it. Although the cotton is a little stiffer/heavier than the fabric Dana used, I actually liked how it turned out.

It was really full at first, but it sort of settled down as she wore it a bit – and now I love the body it has. I love the stripes, and how when they are all layered like that they look like really colourful barcodes.

One of the other really great things about this pattern is the fact that the skirt is fun, flippy, twirly…but the underlying pieces make it stay down so it’s a little bit less likely to flip up over her head when she randomly decides to do a cartwheel. (She is five after all….we’re trying to teach her about modesty while wearing skirts but it is….a little sketchy.)

And…it took me maybe an hour to put this skirt together. Super fast and easy and way fun. I definitely recommend it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hubby permalink
    April 2, 2012 3:13 pm

    I love her — growing up. *Sigh*

    Also love that she’s still a little goofy. My little girl…
    (2nd pic is my fave from the set)

  2. April 2, 2012 3:17 pm

    The skirt is adorable! I really like how it looks in stripes. And look how cute your daughter is, prancing around in boots and her new skirt!:)

    I get those sewing burn outs too, where there’s plenty that needs to be done but isn’t really what you want to be working on. Pillowcases and eye masks, in my case.heh

    I hope that April is indeed a fresh, new start for you with lots of fun, exciting sewing projects!

  3. April 2, 2012 10:28 pm

    Burnout? Preach it! Totally get that… 😦
    And love the skirt — I really like the stripey fabric! 🙂

  4. Angela permalink
    April 2, 2012 11:09 pm

    Very cute skirt! Such a fashionista:0) Great shots of Ani.

  5. April 4, 2012 9:48 am

    I got to see this skirt in person this weekend, and loved it! It was so cute, I almost (almost) want you to make a big-girl sized one for me. I just don’t know if / how / where I would wear it. Heeee. So awesome!

    And don’t worry, I get into those ruts too… when I do, I make a to-do list and make an effort just to get a few things done, and then I feel all is (almost) right with the world. We all have our ways. 🙂

    (Today’s comment was brought to you by the word “almost”.) xo

Leave a Reply

