Skip to content

LBB Hoodie for Sam!

April 19, 2012

I finally stopped only using my LBB hoodie pattern to put hoods on Sienna dresses and made a hoodie for Sam out of a couple of Brandon’s old t-shirts.

It’s funny, I wasn’t totally in love with it when I finished it, but after watching him run around in it for a day, I LOVE it.

The main thing I wasn’t crazy about was the hood – don’t get me wrong at all, I LOVE the pattern; it’s really great. I just didn’t have enough plain navy t-shirt to get the hood pieces cut out – so I had to use the back of the shirt, which had a giant EMS logo on it (Canadian Helicopters – my father in law flies air ambulance, and this was one of the shirts from a number of years ago).

The other thing was that I really loved the green t-shirt that Brandon used to wear – we picked it up on a family vacation to the Outer Banks back in 2009, and it was awesome….but it eventually shrunk and was just too small for him. (Boo). I wanted to put the logo on the front of the shirt but the size I needed to make for Sam was just not big enough to fit it on the front. So I put it on the back too.

This kind of makes for a “party in the back” sort of hoodie – which is okay, I guess, but it made me twitchy – I would have preferred to have the OBX stuff in the front, and not obscured by the EMS hood.

BUT – that said, I love the hoodie, and I love how it looks on Sam. I measured a shirt of his that was similar in size/fit to what I was looking for and after a bit of considering I ended up making him the 18 month size despite the fact that he’s rapidly approaching 2. I’m really happy I did – it fits him really well, with just enough room that he should be able to wear it through the spring and most of the summer I think. I’ll make him a new one in the next size up for the fall!

I really love how the hood is done in these patterns – I just can’t get enough of how cute they are when they are on! I also loved the topstitching, and the colour blocked sleeves – I really like that idea, and I think it worked really well on this hoodie.

And the fact that the hoodie happens to match his shoes almost perfectly? That would be a total coincidence, because no way on earth am I that organized!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 4:53 pm

    The Hoodie is just as adorable as your little boy! I love that you up-cycled old t-shirts to make it up. btw, the Outer Banks is one of our favorite vacation spots. BK was telling us the other day that we needed to go camping in Frisco sometime soon.:)

    • April 19, 2012 9:23 pm

      Aw, thanks Cindy!! I loved it too – and YES to the Outer Banks!!! It’s a haul for us, but it was wonderful when we went there. Would love to go back – what a great place.

  2. Angela permalink
    April 21, 2012 9:19 pm

    This is such a cute idea! The shirts you picked really work.

Leave a Reply

